Chicken Tortellini Soup

16 Dec

I can’t complain about the weather in Chicago so far. It has actually been decent for December. Only one day of snow and it was in the 40’s all week.

Yet yesterday I went running outside- in shorts. Did you know that those lake winds are no joke? It might have been 45 out but I was chilled to the bone.

When decided what to make for dinner last night..I remembered that chilled to the bone feeling. So I made the best cold weather food I could think of..soup!

Chicken Tortellini Soup

  • 2 large chicken breasts (cooked and shredded/cubed)
  • 2 large chopped carrots
  • 2 large stalks of chopped celery
  • 3 1/2 cups of chicken broth
  • 8 oz cooked tortellini
  • 1 TSP oregano
  • Pepper and Garlic Salt to taste

Bring the chicken broth, chicken, carrots, celery and spices to a boil. Reduce to a simmer for 30 minutes and then add tortellini 5-10 minutes before serving.

I am so proud of this soup because I actually made up the recipe! And it was easy. The only thing I could have done better was cooked the chicken differently (I overcooked mine and it was a tad chewy). I think this would be an awesome crock pot recipe.

And because yesterday was National Cupcake Day naturally we celebrated.

Someone was a little mad he couldn’t join in on the delicious dinner. Apparently angry Charlie = barking Charlie. And a very annoyed smash.

Jenny Challenge Update: 73.5 miles- only 26.5 left and 9 days to do it!

What is your favorite soup to make? I want to try more now!

Leave a comment