Wellness Wednesday: My lifestyle

16 Dec

Who else watched the Biggest Loser Season Finale last night? I love that show so much and am so excited for the new season to start in three weeks.  I was quite sad that Patricks little boys weren’t there though, they are so cute!

In the spirit of having a Wellness Wednesday I thought I would talk about how I try to incorporate being healthy and fit into my every day life.  Yes my job is a general manager of a corporate fitness site and I am and have been a certified personal trainer for many years.  Right there most people would assume that I lead a very healthy lifestyle, which I try to most the time.  BUT I still party like a rockstar on the weekends and eat wayy too many cookies/brownies/ice cream  when I have the chance.  I have been asked before how I could possibly eat lucky charms if I am a trainer and the fact that I just started eating salads last year shocks many friends/clients.  The truth is I didn’t grow up eating ANY veggies, maybe the occasional corn or potato but for the most part my parents don’t like veggies so they never made them therefore none of their kids like them.  I am really trying hard to change this but its a slow change.

I try and eat 5 small meals a day (200-400 cals) so therefore I don’t over do it at any meals and I make sure to start my mornings off with some sort of protein/carb combo.  I really enjoy cooking but my work schedule doesn’t allow me to make exciting lunches so I try and have good dinners whenever possible, like tonight when I made this delicious turkey burger with feta cheese, sweet potato niblets (a sweet potato cut into pieces and cooked on the stove top in olive oil, I’m OBSESSED) and some corn. (I am not trying to be a food blogger here but this is what it looked like).

In terms of exercise I love doing different things, and have recently gotten back into running.  I ran track and cross country in grade school and high school but only occasionally since then.  I did the Hot Chocolate 5k in November as my first race in over 4 years and ran a 24:55.  I have decided to try and work up to a half marathon and if I like it I will try the Chicago marathon next October (we’ll see…).  My workouts vary between running, elliptical and circuit strength training, for example today I did 5 min walking @ incline 5.0 then 5 miles (44:45 min) with varying speeds from 6.0-7.6 changing it up every .25 miles then 5 min walking @ incline 5.0 to end.

So thats my healthy life in a nutshell.  Any advice for increasing my veggie intake or learning to like them would be awesome!!

2 Responses to “Wellness Wednesday: My lifestyle”

  1. janae @hungryrunnergirl.com December 16, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    I love your wellness philosophy! Small changes:) Your dinner looks amazing!
    Thanks for the warning about the BL ha!!

  2. mealsformiles December 17, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    Oohh embrace the veggies!! If you like soups or chilis, they are a great way to get in veggies and are really tasty. Also, the possibility of what you can put in a salad is endless. Start with a trip to the Whole Foods salad bar for inspiration. Umm, can you tell I’m a nutrition geek? 🙂

Leave a Reply

