Tijuana Snow Day?

3 Feb

Yayy we got a snow day!! My boss sent out an email at 7:30 this morning saying just stay home and have a snow day~! It was awesome.  I think we ended up getting over 22 inches of snow.  Over 1000 people got stuck in their cars on Lake Shore drive and none of the metra or CTA trains were running smoothly.  It was madness.

So basically after seeing that email I fell back asleep until 11:30.  I then ventured out to the starbucks 2 blocks from my house and it took me a good 15 minutes to walk there, the sidewalks were crazy! A lot of cleaning, baking, shoveling and picture taking occured today.  I made my mom’s famous tijuana tort for dinner.  Its a delicious red meat sauce that you put on top of doritios and rice and then you can add cheese, sour cream, lettuce or whatever else to it.  So good.  I also baked cinnamon apple muffins that I stole from marathonmaidens blog back in December and was in love with.

(I am not a food blogger by any mean’s so even if these pictures don’t look good..trust me they are!)

And the ingredients for the Tijuana Tort + Red Sauce = Awesomeness

 

 

 

And now a bunch of pictures of Chicago Snowmagedon 2011! Have a great Wednesday evening 🙂

3 Responses to “Tijuana Snow Day?”

  1. mealsformiles February 3, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    hooray for snow days! That looks like fun, and definitely way better than going in to work. Hope you begin to dig out soon though!

  2. the dawn February 5, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    yay you got a blizzard!!!! that’s so exciting that you actually got a snow day from work! i try to not get too emotionally attached, but i was super excited when everything closed for a day!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Re-re-recap « A Spoonful of Smash - March 1, 2011

    […] A grown up snow day! […]

Leave a Reply

