Re-re-recap

1 Mar

Workouts: I ended February yesterday with an easy 3 miles (28:00) and then today I had 4 x 800’s on the schedule.  I did a mile warm up, 2 800’s with a 400 jog in between..and then wanted to die.  I think it was a combo of having 3 drinks last night when I haven’t drank in weeks, and getting 5 hours of sleep from GAGA that my body was dying.  I ended up doing 3 more 400’s fast instead of the remaining 800’s.  Total:  4.5 miles.

I thought I would do a brief recap of my February training.  I am training for the Champaign Half Marathon at the end of April and February marked the official first month of training.

  • Total Miles: 77.4 – Up from 63 last month
  • Total Runs: 14

And now some questions for all of you who have done half’s successfully

  • Do you do cut back weeks? I still have 9 weeks to the race and my long run is at 9 miles.. should I continue to increase each week or do a few cut backs and try and do them faster?
  • Did you go over 13 miles for your 1st half? My plan right now was to try and do 14 but my mom (a cross country coach) recommended not going over 12 since it is my first half.. any opinions?
  • If you would me how would you progress your long runs for the next 9 weeks assuming you did 9 miles last weekend?

And for a blog recap..some exciting things happened in such a short month!

Happy MARCH!

What are you looking forward to this month?

-I am excited for our Mardi Gras party and VEGAS!

4 Responses to “Re-re-recap”

  1. jeri March 1, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    I did 10 for my first 1/2, but my goal was just to finish. If you can do 10 you can do 13.1. Since you have a time goal, I think 11-12 for the longest would be fine. After you have a couple under your belt, there’s no issue with doing a 13.1 or 14 mile long run in training. I actually prefer that way now!

  2. Erica March 2, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    So jealous that you got to go to Gaga! How fun!!! And you’re really kicking butt on your runs! Best of luck with the big race 🙂 🙂

  3. mealsformiles March 2, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    I think cutback weeks are important! Every three or four weeks is usually a good plan for me. I think for my first half I did about 12, but from then on I’ve done more mileage – 14-15 maybe. I would do whatever you feel comfortable with – running more than 13 can be a pretty big confidence boost!

  4. Alexis Ralph March 3, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    I am also excited for Mardi Gras and AS VEGASS!!! hayg!

Leave a Reply

