Fruit a holic

2 Mar

Workout: 30 minutes elliptical and 15 minutes upper body weights.  I did 3 sets of chest flys on a stability ball, bicep curls to shoulder raises, lawn mowers on the cable machine, crunches on the stability ball and tricep pulldowns.  Pretty simple workout for me, back to running tomorrow! No shin pain again today.. these new shoes are magical 🙂

So today I thought I would share my love of fruit with you.

(Thanks google images)

If being a vegetarian means you eat a lot of veggies *which I understand it doesn’t I’ve just used to think that* then call me a fruitatarian.  I am seriously addicted to fruit.  Like today I had two bananas, some strawberries and an apple.  But not a single vegetable.  And thats pretty standard.  I can eat any where from 1-5 servings of fruit pretty regularly each day.. and I am luck if I eat 1-2 veggies a week.   HELP!

I know I’ve posted about my dislike of veggies before, so hopefully I am not being to redundant.  But I really want to try and eat more of them but I just dislike them.  I will eat them cooked in meals like soups or pastas but just to snack on throughout the day I can’t do it unless I eat them with some type of dip.  And I don’t enjoy hummus.  So dipping veggies in ranch just seems so counterprodutive to me.  I would MUCH rather have an apple over carrot sticks.

Do you think I am not getting proper nutrients without my veggies or does having a lot of fruit help cancel it out?

6 Responses to “Fruit a holic”

  1. Cara @ Chic Meets Healthy March 2, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    i love my fruits! i always snack on them. i would try mixing some spinach into your protein shake in the morning. there are always ways you can hide the taste. what about adding apples to your salad?

    • Ashley March 3, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      The spinach to a shake thing is a great idea! I really need to start doing this..and buy some protein powder!

  2. the dawn March 3, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    i’m totally addicted to fruit too! LOVE love love it. especially in the summers here when i can go pick my own fruit all the time. yummm.

    my suggestion is to start sneaking in the veggies. i love spinach in my smoothies. or you could choose the veggies that are more sweet, like bell peppers. i can’t eat carrots plain, but i love peppers and cucumbers raw. for me, it just seems like veggies are harder to eat because you have to “do” something to them first. like peel or chop. i’ve learned that i end up eating a lot more veggies during the week if i prepare a whole bunch on sunday. so i fill a plastic container with ready to much on veggies so when i want a snack its just as easy to eat healthy…

    that’s all i got 🙂

    • Ashley March 3, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      I do like cucumbers plain..maybe I will try those..thanks for the help!!

  3. mealsformiles March 3, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    hmm, I think you are missing out on some nutrients. Fruits are great, but veggies are a little superior when it comes to some vitamins and minerals! Do you like roasted veggies? I find that always gives them such great flavor.

  4. Mom March 3, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Andy Lambert made roasted asparagus the other night, I tried it and it was really good! Sometimes you just have to keep trying things before you decide you don’t like them 🙂 The fruit pic is beautiful though!

Leave a Reply

