Switching It Up

3 Mar

First of all…thank you so much for your veggie advice! I think green monsters are going to be my way to go..I am not a huge salad or roasted veggie fan so if I can start with adding spinach to smoothies hopefully I will evolve from there!

No Three Things Thursday today.. I couldn’t think of 3 fun things..just 1 weird workout and 1 new meal!

Workout: On my schedule was 5.5 miles..I planned on doing this in between getting home from work and training a private client so I could run outside.  I made it about 3 miles at a pretty good pace and then all the sudden BOOM stomach cramps.  Apparently eating a chewy granola bar and a handful of chips before I walked out the door to run was a terrible idea.  I have been doing SO well too with no stomach issues but I was hungryy.  So I did one more mile before I absolutely had to stop, went and trained my client, then ran another 1.5.  Overall equaled 5.5 in 48:36 but not all together.  Mile splits were 8:23, 8:20, 8:46, 9:05 (ouch tummy), 9:21 and .5 in 4:29.


And since my long run this weekend is going to be shorter than usual, 7-8 miles, I am going to run it tomorrow so I can have a free weekend to do whatever!

For dinner tonight I really wanted to try out this..

I had a quinoa bowl for lunch a few weeks ago from a place called the protein bar and I really enjoyed it! I know it’s a great way I can spice up my lunches because I won’t need to heat it up so I thought I should try it out tonight. I wanted to make it with pesto + a turkey burger + feta.  This would probably also be a good thing I could have added some spinach or other veggies too but I don’t have any..next grocery shop trip I promise!

Pesto + Turkey Burger

Well after a terrible disaster trying to strain it..(no idea how to do this!!!) I cooked it then combined all ingredients.  It was QUITE yummy! All I need to do know if figure out how to rinse it because apparently this is an important step? I bought mine in a box from Trader Joes..does it need to be rinsed? I didn’t take a picture of the end result because it wasn’t very pretty..but did taste good!

Now time to try to go to bed early so I can get up and get this run done with! I have a fun non healthy living post for tomorrow.. if you went to U of I you might know what it’s about 🙂

Do you cook with quinoa a lot? How do you strain it? What is your favorite way to use it?

 

 

One Response to “Switching It Up”

  1. caitlinoco March 3, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    I don’t use it a ton, I would love to more and those patties look like an awesome idea! I usually use it in stir- fry or on a salad. Your run counts even broken up, good luck on the long one! I’ll also be traveling through Chicago on Saturday, I’ll make sure to think of you!

Leave a Reply

