Happy Unofficial!

4 Mar

Workout: Long run-7 miles on the treadmill.  It was painfull I have gotten used to running long outside so this sucked.  I think overall time was around 1:04.  I probably could have used more then a 12 hour recovery from my last run but oh well its over!

And today I want to share with you my saddness 😦 Sadness on missing out on one of the greatest holiday’s there is.  Yes, Today is UnOfFicIal.  If you went to school in the midwest my guess is you know what Unofficial is but just in case you don’t let me explain.  The first Friday of March all the students at University of Illinois celebrate UnOfficial St. Patrick’s day because St. Patrick’s day always fell over spring break.

Everybody dresses in green and usually get’s shirts made.  We always got them made between our group of friends but typically frats and sororities would all make their own shirts as well as sports teams and all different types of clubs and groups.

Peace love and beer was my favorite shirt we ever made

Basically everyone skips class, wakes up early and drinks all day.  Kegs and Eggs are quite common as well as breakfast power hours.  People used to still attend class quite intoxicated by they started becoming a lot more strict over the 4 years I was there so by my senior year no one went to class.

So Happy Unofficial all you U of I kids. I am SO jealous of your lives today 😦

I will attempt to celebrate by going to happy hour with my other graduated friends.. hopefully there is a green drink on the menu!

PS. If you hate binge drinking and didn’t participate like most college students..Sorry I’m not sorry? How else would you have long lasting memories like this..

Please don’t judge me 🙂

One Response to “Happy Unofficial!”

  1. Danielle March 4, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    This looks like so much fun! I went to a private Christian school so of course we never had anything like this. Good thing there was another major university in the same town! : )

Leave a Reply

