Semi Homemade

5 Mar

Have you ever watched the next food network star? One of the winners from 2 season’s ago has a show now called Semi-Homemade. She basically takes store bought foods and spices them up a little bit..I feel like my cooking today could be considered for the show.

I made pancakes for breakfast with fried eggs and cheeeese.  And by made pancakes I mean I mixed pancake batter with water then added stuff into the pancakes once they were on the griddle.  The counts as baking right? I made a few blueberry ones, one with peanut butter on top and the best one…ONE WITH REESES PIECES! I tried to be a nice girlfriend and give that one to Sean because I may have fallen asleep at 9 pm last night due to getting drunk off 3 drinks.  I ended up eating half of it though..SO DELICIOUS!

We then ran some errands and I made Sean and his sister/my roomate go to PAWS and look at puppies because I want one SO bad.  They didn’t have any bulldogs thought.. and I am technically not allowed to have one in my apt.. sad life 😦

We then decided to make mini sliders for lunch because 1. They are Sean’s favorite food and 2. One of our favorite places to go eat when we first started dating was Seven Saints in Champaign, IL.  They have all sorts of gourmet sliders so we decided to make my favorite, one with peanut sauce and pineapple, and one with feta and grilled onions.

1. Step one to homemade sliders: buy premade ground beef sliders from Target. Put Peanut Sauce on half

2. Step 2: Grill Onions and place burgers on grill pan

Step 3: Have a cute sous-chef

Step 4: Google how to cut up a real pineapple.  Take a ridiculously long time to do it.  Be really proud of yourself when it’s done

5.  Step 5 place feta carefully on half the burgers while almost done cooking

Step 6: Assemble on buns and enjoy!

I am really enjoying taking pictures of my really easy recipes and pretending like I am a super sweet food blogger.  If I am terrible at it please let me know..I may or may not stop.

And now it’s time to enjoy to get ready for the evening.  We are going out for a friends birthday.. hopefully I can stay awake a little later tonight.  I did get 11 hours of sleep last night 🙂

Any exciting plans for your Saturday night?

3 Responses to “Semi Homemade”

  1. Mom March 5, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    I don’t know why you gotta keep torturing me with all these food pics.. why don’t you ever make that kind of food when you are home??? Where did you get peanut sauce… that I need to have!

    • Ashley March 5, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

      Sean would like you to know that HE made them. And Trader Joes..it’s delicious!

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte March 6, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    I like the food pics! Definitely keep doing it! I take them too and I know I am a terrible photographer, but hey, it’s fun.

    I want a dog soooooo bad, too! I keep thinking once I get a home, but then with two people who work all day, how’s it possible?? I don’t know how it will happen, but a dog is definitely in my future!

Leave a Reply

