Chi-rish

13 Mar

Oh what a weekend! Before I get into the crazyness that was this weekend I just want to discuss my perfect 10 miler a little bit more.  I didn’t have time for a full recap when I made my original post but I am quite proud of this run! I have been averaging 9 min/miles for my long runs which is the goal for my half right now.  Should I re-evaluate this goal and shoot for under 1:55 instead of under 2 hours? I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment with my first half marathon but I also want to have a challenge.  I think I will just have an A and B goal!

So this weekend was like being back in college..full of friends, day drinking, and fun! Saturday night we had a big mardi gras party at my apartment.

The party was full of boyfriends..

Roomates..

Sisters..

And homemade king cake!

It was quite the fun party!

And then Saturday was the big Chicago St. Patrick’s day celebration where they dye the river green and everyone goes out to the bars all day and celebrates being Chi-rish!

We planned to start the day out at a friends apartment so I made these delicious egg muffins for breakfast.  I mainly used this recipe but didn’t put tomatoes in it and doubled the cheese.

MMM they were yummy!

And then it was off to celebrate being Chi-rish.  We went out from noon-til midnight, I was proud of my drinking abilities, I never can stay awake for that long!

Siblings!

And Boyfriend

It was a really fun weekend! But I am beyond tired now.  I have three days of work then I am flying to Vegas from Wed night until Saturday morning.  I am a little worried about the whole running schedule this week, I think it is just going to be an off one.  I will probably be a bad blogger this week as well because I won’t be blogging from Vegas.

How was your weekend, anything exciting?

How do you deal with going out of town during training?

-I am just going to try and run these next three days while I am in town!

13 Responses to “Chi-rish”

  1. Danielle March 13, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    I always have big plans of running while I’m out of town, but it never happens.
    I think a 1:55 goal for your half is awesome!!
    Have fun in Vegas!

    • Ashley March 14, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

      Thank you!! And yeah I am guessing no way I run while out of town!

  2. katshealthcorner March 13, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    YAY for Family and Friends!!! I treasure the time I get to spend with my family. 🙂

    Great running goals! 😀

    xoxox
    Kathleen

    • Ashley March 14, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

      Thanks! And yes hanging with my family is the best..they are very entertaining

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords March 14, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    Ooh, fun! I have to be honest, I’ve avoided going out of town as much as possible while training for this half. The few times I was gone I only had 2 mile runs to finish, so I just stayed in the neighborhood where my family lives. I mapped a basic plan with runkeeper online, just so I would kind of know what 2 miles looked like.

    • Ashley March 14, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

      That sounds like it works well..just not sure I will be in any position to attempt to run in Vegas..oh well!

  4. Mom March 14, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Smash looks like your weekend was delicious, cant wait till you come home and actually cook any one of those foods for your mommy! Andy just read your blog for the first time over my shoulder and was wondering why he did not make the mardi gras pic.

    As for your training, I COULD NOT BE MORE PROUD of my former athlete 🙂 go for it!!!

    • Ashley March 14, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

      aww thanks mom..and he didn’t take any pics with me on Mardi Gras!

  5. Ali March 14, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    I think you should definitely have an (a) and (b) goal! And aim big-you may surprise yourself 🙂

    • Ashley March 14, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      Yes I think I will, thank you for the advice!

  6. Allison @ Runs A Latte March 14, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Have the goal you’ll be good with (2 hours) and then have that secret goal that you’re really trying to achieve (1:55). That way, no disappointment! But congrats on that run!

    This weekend was pretty low-key. Let’s just say the highlight was running 21 miles on a treadmill Saturday morning…

    • Ashley March 14, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      I think that I am def going to have those be my goals! Unless I don’t go under 2..then I’d be sad 😦 And wow 21 miles on a treadmill?!?! Can’t wait to read about that!

  7. jeri March 16, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    My recommendation would be to run the first 10 miles at a conservative-ish pace, and then race the last 5k. I typically try to do that even if I’m trying to PR, b/c you know what you have left for the final 5k and can go all out at that point.

Leave a Reply

