RunPhones

21 Mar

Happy Monday 🙂 Today went by pretty fast for a Monday so I was happy.

Workouts: Today was a cross training day since I actually ran yesterday.  I did 15 min on the stair master, 10 min of the the Precor AMT (have you tried it? It’s awesome, Jen wrote a great post about it awhile back) and then 20 minutes of weights.

So about that run yesterday, it was pretty rough since I was recovering from Vegas still but I had to do it because I had just received a present in the mail..

RunPhones!

A few weeks ago I was searching the internet for some new things and came across these babies..RunPhones! It is basically a headband that has built-in headphones.  I had been experiencing a lot of issues with keeping my headphones in my ears once I got sweaty on my runs and was  debating buying new headphones because mine were just not working.  I was very intrigued when I found the RunPhones but was a bit apprehensive because they seemed a tad expensive ($35/pair) and I wasn’t sure if I would like them.  Luckily the awesome people at RunPhones offered to send me a pair so I could review them.

I tested them out on Sunday and was very surprised how much I liked them! When I first put the headband on I was worried that it was too big and was going to fall off my head as soon as I started running.

  • They come in 3 sizes: extra small, one size fits most, and extra-large.  The website recommends that most people get the “one size fits most” unless you are a bald man or a small girl (under 5’3) or extra-large if you have a lot of hair or a large head.  But they offer complimentary size exchanges so you can always send it back if it doesn’t fit.

I put on my RunPhone’s and headed out the door for an easy 5 miler.

They ended up not moving at all! I think I adjusted them maybe once.  The sound quality was great and because there isn’t anything actually sticking in your ears you can still hear your surroundings which is key if you are running in a busy area.

The fabric also is sweat-wicking so it helped keep any sweat from getting in my face, which I can only imagine how awesome this will be in the summer. I received the summer version of the RunPhones which is very light weight and I don’t think I would get overheated wearing them once it’s nice out, they do have a winter version as well.

Overall I would give this product an A!

I would highly recommend them to anyone who has issues with headphones falling out and likes a sweat wicking headband.  They are easy to wash (just remove headphones and throw in your washing machine and dryer!) so you don’t have to get them all smelly.  The only drawback would be the price but if you think about how much money you would spend on nice head phones I am sure they are at least $35 if not more (I am a cheapy and have only ever used the ipod ones) plus for the amount of times you will use them they are for sure worth it.  I wonder how the extra small ones fit compared to the one size fit’s all, I think I would like them just a tad bit tighter.

So if you are in the market for some new headphones, go check out RunPhone’s site and see what you think!

*Disclaimer: I was sent a pair of RunPhone’s when I offered to review them, I was in no way paid for this review and all of these opinions are 100% my own!*

What do you think of RunPhones? Something you would want to try?

What kind of headphones do you use to workout in? Anyone else get super sweaty that their earbuds fall out or is that just me?

9 Responses to “RunPhones”

  1. Allison @ Runs A Latte March 21, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    I have never seen anything like RunPhones, but it’s quite the ingenious idea! I used to use super fancy, crazy priced work out headphones, but my sweaty self kept breaking them. I gave up, despite amazing sound quality and now I have to wear the behind the head headphones (you know the old school kind) because those crazy Apple ear buds do not fit in my ears! They always fall out! I’m thinking my ears must be deformed and different from the rest of the population who sports these.

    • Ashley March 24, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      Haha I was going to resort to the behind the ear ones! And I hear ya on the apple ones, they do not work for my ears either, no worries your not deformed~!

  2. Danielle March 21, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I haven’t ever heard of runphones, but it’s a pretty good idea! I might have to try some out next time I get headphones.
    I use SkullCandy headphones right now. LOVE them.

    • Ashley March 24, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

      I’ve never used SkullCandy but sounds like they are popular!

  3. movesnmunchies March 22, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    WAIT THOSE SOUND AWESOME!! im gna go look them up now!

    • Ashley March 24, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

      Let me know if you get them!

  4. Sarah S @RunningOnWords March 22, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    I’ve actually considered buying them, but I’m not sure I’m willing to spend the money. I currently use Skullcandy earbuds, but I worry that they make it too hard for me to hear my surroundings.

    • Ashley March 24, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

      I used them again today..I think it’s worth it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In Defense of Trainers « A Spoonful of Smash - March 22, 2011

    […] Mar Thank you to everyone who checked out my RunPhone’s post! Glad to hear some of you like them, I love sharing new finds with […]

Leave a Reply

