Three Thing Thursday

24 Mar

Happy Jersey Shore Finale! Today’s Three Thing Thursday is quite random..

  1. I set a new personal distance record today..11 miles! I decided to switch my long run to today so I didn’t have to worry about getting up early on Saturday or watching what I eat/drink Friday night.  11 miles is freaking LONG..it felt so much longer then 10.  Splits ranged from 8:14-9:22 and average was 8:57.

Took this one for my sister Peace, Love and 11 miles Lexy

And I am trying to be AWESOME

2. Speaking of running..I keep getting terribly cold and start shivering uncontrollable after these long runs.  Its worse when it’s really cold out but today it was 35 and Sunny, not warm by any means, but I’ve run in worse, and I still was so cold.  It lasts forever after I get done running, normally gets better after I take a shower, change my clothes, and wrap myself in a blanket.  I did a lot of google-ing and saw answers from dehydration to electrolyte imbalances.  Does this happen to anyone else? How do I make it stop?? My dad said I was perfectly fine and it was nothing to worry about but I took my temp after like an hour and it was 95.2, I feel like that is way too low.

3.  And in the spirit of making 3 thing Thursday completely random, lets talk about Chicken!

(Thanks google)

I am quite terrible at cooking chicken normally but the other day I decide to try cooking it in a crock pot.  It was so yummy! I put three chicken breasts in the crock pot with a can of chicken broth and let it sit for 4.5 hours.  It was perfectly tender and shredded apart so deliciously.  I made a BBQ ranch chicken pizza thingy on Tuesday night and then tonight Sean cooked up some pasta (I was too busy trying to avoid death by shivers).

Yumm Pasta

BBQ Ranch Cheddar Pizza Thingy

And now I am hoping I can stay warm long enough to go get some fro-yo.  I promised myself my whole run I would go get some if I finished it (not that I need to run to get fro-yo, I am just trying not to spend money on buying food right now since my credit card bill is purely from Subway, Argo Tea, and Starbucks right now).

Have you ever run 11 miles? Did you fuel during it?

-This was the first time I tried to eat or drink anything.  I stashed a water bottle on my route and probably drank 1/2 of it and then I ate 2 power bites.  Not exactly proper fueling but better than nothing!

Do you get cold after you run? Do you know why this happens?

Do you think food on blue plates is unappetizing looking?

-Apparently that’s true..or maybe my pizza just doesn’t look pretty but I sweat its yummy!

10 Responses to “Three Thing Thursday”

  1. caitlinoco March 24, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    I always get freezing for a few hours. My mom and my sister are also distance runners and the same thing happens to them. I’m not sure what causes it but I think since it seems to happen to other runners I don’t worry too much about it!

  2. Danielle March 24, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I always feel like 11 is way harder than 10! congrats on running your longest run!

  3. Janice - The Fitness Cheerleader March 24, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Yes – I’ve always had this happen to me. I usually run on my lunch at work and I have to keep an extra sweater at work for afterwards. Our bodies sweat to reduce our increased body temperatures, but after we stop running we’re still sweating, so we over compensate, then get cold.

  4. katshealthcorner March 24, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    Congrats on your run! 😀 It sounds like you had a BLAST! 😀 I love the feeling I have when I run! I feel so empowered and that I can take on the world! 🙂

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  5. Sarah S @RunningOnWords March 25, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    It kinda sounds like you might need to take in more electrolytes. The exercise physiologist for my running club told us to only drink sports drinks when we run unless we are using a gel with out water.

    Congrats on your 11 miles! That’s an awesome accomplishment that I hope to have in another month.

  6. Allison @ Runs A Latte March 25, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Congrats on your run! I also get the shivers after running, although it’s worse if I can’t jump in the shower right away. Showering seems to cure it. I think it’s because when you run, your body temp. rises and so when it drops back down to a fairly normal range, it feels colder than what it was. But with only 1/2 bottle of water, it could also be dehydration in your case.

    I always fuel for any run that’s at least an hour and a half of running. I’ll just mix gatorade with my water for anything that’s just short of that, but still above an hour.

  7. movesnmunchies March 25, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    WOW 11 miles!!! that so impressive!! YES YES YES !i get cold after my runs.. im gna read the comments to see if i cant find out why!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Love/Hate Relationships « A Spoonful of Smash - March 26, 2011

    […] Thursday: 11 miles […]

  2. Mid Week Long Run « A Spoonful of Smash - March 30, 2011

    […] so far so good! No freezing cold experience like last time, then again I was inside for this run.  I am hoping my legs are fine to do whatever this drill […]

  3. Long Run and 3 Thing Thursday « A Spoonful of Smash - April 7, 2011

    […] I also wore a fuel belt for the first time, not sure of the brand because I borrowed it from a client and I think she changed the actual belt part of it out.  It was SO ANNOYING, but yet so helpful.  Once I got used to the bottles and the bouncing I was glad to have it ( I just had 2 small bottles either 6 or 8 oz one with water and one with Gatorade). I did a much better job drinking and taking fuel this long run and I felt SO much better than after my 11 mile run. […]

Leave a Reply

