Just can’t hang..

28 Mar

..like I used too.  I need to remember that my college days are over..I just can’t hang like I used to.  After going out to my first “club” Saturday night I was so hungover all day on Sunday I could barely move.  It was miserable.  I need to remember I can’t drink like I did in college.  PS did you know that “clubs” aren’t really that different from a regular bar? At least the one we went to.  It was more of a lounge atmosphere.

One of my best friends since high school, Steven, and I

Oh hey there drunk couple 🙂

My friend Steph (and Steven’s girlfriend)

Despite the ridiculous hangover it was a really fun night! I am a little worried about my training schedule this week though after how bad I felt after drinking on Saturday night.  This Friday is the Lil Wayne concert and then Saturday we are going to a roof top cubs game.  Both events should involve a decent amount of drinking so I am not planning on getting any good training runs in on Saturday or Sunday.

So tentitive plan for the week? I did cross training today, 5 x 800s tomorrow, longish run Wed (hopefully 8-9) and then 6 miles on Friday.  I am also attending a boot camp certification class on Thursday so that should be really interesting! Hopefully my legs aren’t too sore and I can still run on Friday.

Sorry for the lameo post, I promise I will be back tomorrow with some actually interesting content 🙂

Does your social life ever effect your workouts?

-I swear I don’t really drink that much but I am only 22, that’s what my friends do on the weekends!

How do you make sure to get your workouts in during a busy weekend?

12 Responses to “Just can’t hang..”

  1. Danielle March 28, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Jealous of Lil Wayne! Have so much fun!!

    • Ashley March 29, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

      Thank you! I am so excited 🙂

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte March 28, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    I feel ya! St. Patty’s Day weekend, I think I was had a hangover for 3 days straight (from 3 nights of drinking). I don’t usually drink much, but there are those times…But glad you had fun!

    I always work on super early on weekdays (5:40) and pretty early on weekends (8:30) because that’s the only way I can totally ensure that I will do it!

    • Ashley March 29, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      Jealous of your motivation, there is no way I could work out at 8:30 on the weekends!

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords March 29, 2011 at 5:17 am #

    I really haven’t been drinking since I got serious about training for the half because it makes me feel so crappy. I’m super lame and refuse to hang out late with friends the night before a scheduled run. That’s probably not healthy, but it’s the only way I can drag my butt out of bed at 5 AM, thus ensuring I get my runs in.

    • Ashley March 29, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

      Good for you! I am not that serious I guess :/

  4. Mom March 29, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    You know I know this sounds CRAZY!!! but you can go out and have a “good time” without drinking :)) It is possible just ask your mom. Enjoy the high from a long run so much better than a hangover :/

    • Ashley March 29, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

      Oh yes mother I know!!!

  5. Shannon Heisler March 29, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Talk to me about “hanging” in a decade – or two. 😉 I gave up alcohol for lent and am eating Paleo (the plan the Crossfitters love) and my workouts are now better than ever!!!!

    • Ashley March 29, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      Yes I have heard good things about Paleo! What do you think of it so far?!

  6. movesnmunchies March 29, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    YEs! i usually try and schedule my workouts around social life etc. so if im going out one night ill pick a light workout for thenext morning! come to the clubs in London- they are crazy fun!

    • Ashley March 29, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

      Ooh clubs in London? sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

