Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

29 Mar

Workout: After feeling very pathetic with my workout yesterday (30 min elliptical and 15 min weights) I finally ran today.  I did 1 mile warm up at 6.3 then 5 x800s.  The 800’s were all around 7:51-8:00 pace (7.5-7.6) on the treadmill with a 400 jog at 5.8 in between.  This was really hard!! It took a lot of mental will power to finish that last one.  After running outside so much going back to the treadmill is always slightly painful.  Can’t wait to try to do 9 miles on it tomorrow night ::cough being sarcastic cough::

So last night I was all set to go to bed around 9 and I just couldn’t get over wanting some sort of dessert.  We have no good desserts in our house that aren’t chocolate (which I gave up for lent) so I decided to make oatmeal raisin cookies.  Best. Decision. Ever.

I’m not going to pretend like I made this recipe up, I totally stole it from the oatmeal container.  I did cut the portion size down though because it said it made 4 dozen cookies, and there is no way I can eat 4 dozen cookies! Okay maybe if I tried..but I don’t want to find out.

Recipe:

  • 1 stick of butter
  • 3/8 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup regular sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 3/4 cup of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1.5 cups of oatmeal (I have old fashioned)
  • 1/2 cup of raisins

You just mix the sugar and butter.  Then blend in eggs and vanilla. Add flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Then add oats and raisins and mix everything well.  Bake for 8-10 min at 350.

Batter should look like this:

Ugly right? No worries when they are done they look like this…

Mmm delicious! Seriously best oatmeal raisin cookies I’ve ever made (and the first ones but shh..).  I know this recipe was not rocket science by any means but I was glad to just make something so delicious in less than 20 minutes just so I could satisfy my dessert cravings!

The recipe ended up making about 16 cookies, I’ve only eaten 3 so far..

And I have big plans for dinner! I am going to try a quinoa creation I have been brewing up in my head.  I will make sure to post later if it works out well.  I also plan to add some new pages to the blog tonight.. any recommendations?

What’s for dinner at your house tonight?

Are you excited to watch biggest loser?

It’s my only show I MUST watch.  I hope it gets interesting soon because this season has been a little dull.

10 Responses to “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies”

  1. movesnmunchies March 29, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    LOVE OATMEAL COOKIES! ah i wish the BL was on air here!!! GRR we are lik ea season behind cuz london does that.. boo!

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte March 29, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Great job on the interval run! They always make me feel so accomplished!

    Dinner for me is leftover soba noodles with tofu and broccoli. I’m posting the recipe, probably tomorrow b/c I’m watching Biggest Loser, of course!

    I always watch that show! I feel like the last few seasons have both been a bit dull. I think I’d like it more if it wasn’t 2 hours long! Far too many commercials!

  3. This Italian Family March 29, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    Those cookies look so fabulous!

    Normally I love Biggest Loser, but this season has been (like you said) kinda slow. So I haven’t kept up with it as much.

    Super cute blog, by the way!

  4. Mom March 29, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    The best part of watching BL is when it is DVR’d then it’s never 2 hours you get to FF through all the dull stuff :))

    Ashley if you don’t come home and make me some of these DELICIOUS foods you keep blogging about I sware to heaver you are in BIG, BIG trouble :o)

    EXCELLENT workout young lady, excellent. Way to put mind over matter and get the work done. It will pay off!!!

    • Shannon Heisler March 30, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      I agree “Mom” – that’s a 40 minute show stretched into 2 hours. I fast forward through the yapping, product placements, etc. I like the challenges, workouts, and weigh-ins!

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 29, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Cookies are my FAV. Although I find that I never end up with the amount the recipe says I will. Is it because I eat too much dough or make the cookies too big? Who knows…

    Caught up on your posting for the last few days. Hooray for the season opener this weekend! I’m jealous you’ll be at the game, but I’ll be bouncing around the area to get in on all the action… 😉

  6. katshealthcorner March 30, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    YUM!!!! I love Oatmeal Raisin Cookies!!!! 😀

  7. mykindoftownchicago March 30, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    I also love Biggest Loser- especially after a good run! It’s like extra motivation. Also, I need to make those cookies, they look pretty much amazing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mid Week Long Run « A Spoonful of Smash - March 30, 2011

    […] And so far so good! No freezing cold experience like last time, then again I was inside for this run.  I am hoping my legs are fine to do whatever this drill sergeant has in store for us tomorrow. I came home and ate two turkey, cheese and ranch wraps and some sweet potato fries.  Oh and of course a cookie […]

  2. Surviving Lent « A Spoonful of Smash - April 27, 2011

    […] I always wanted something sweet at the end of the night and had nothing to eat.  I ended up making cookies to help fill the void.   I was curious to see if giving up chocolate would have any affect on my […]

Leave a Reply

