Mid Week Long Run

30 Mar

I am about to fall asleep on my keyboard..apparently that is what a mid-week 10 miler will do to ya! As I’ve mentioned earlier this week I have big plans this weekend so I needed to get my long run in today.  BUT I am going to an all day boot camp training tomorrow so I couldn’t go too far, I need to be able to workout tomorrow!

So I set out to do 8-9..and ended up doing 10! I blame it on this idea that I got from Page. She wrote about watching “The Spirit of the Marathon” on netflix while doing a long run on the treadmill, so that’s exactly what I did! It was such a great movie.  I was totally ready to be done at 6 miles but then the movie was getting to the good parts so I kept watching.  If you are looking for a good inspirational running movie I highly recommend it.

The other thing I tried to do with this run was working on fueling properly.   I know I did a bad job with it on my last long run so I was determined to try harder.  I went to the store and got these..

Gatorade for during the run, GU for around mile 6, and chocolate milk for after! I drank about 12 oz of water before switching to Gatorade about 5 miles in.  I ended up taking 1/2 of a GU (actually decided to eat my strawberry banana one) at mile 6 and not having the other half.  Weird texture but sat fine in my stomach! I devoured that chocolate milk about 15 minutes post run.

And so far so good! No freezing cold experience like last time, then again I was inside for this run.  I am hoping my legs are fine to do whatever this drill sergeant has in store for us tomorrow. I came home and ate two turkey, cheese and ranch wraps and some sweet potato fries.  Oh and of course a cookie 🙂

How was your Wednesday Workout?

Are you scared for me to become Drill Sergeant Smash tomorrow? I AM

HAPPY SWEATY SMASH PIC

7 Responses to “Mid Week Long Run”

  1. Allison @ Runs A Latte March 30, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Good choices on the refuelers! I love the light blue Gatorade! And there’s nothing better than chocolate milk after running!

    Spirit of the Marathon is amazing! I watched it before my first was and was totally captivated. At least it made the long run fly by!

  2. katshealthcorner March 30, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    YAY! I love Ellipticals/Precors!!! 😀

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords March 31, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Way to go! I only got 1.5 miles in yesterday because I was feeling really sick. I’ll tackled 10 on Saturday though. I hope boot camp went well!

  4. Mom March 31, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Well done little miss, well done. I have to see this movie now, were you watching it on your iphone? How do I make that happen (newbie iphone user)

    I accidentally reported your blog to spam via my email version. I hope I can still get it that way. We will see, sorry! Hitting buttons too fast this morning.
    mom ❤

  5. movesnmunchies March 31, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    HOLLA!! what a fab run!

  6. Page Spicer March 31, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    AWESOME! I’m so glad that little tip worked and helped push the distance!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Boot Camp Instructor Training « A Spoonful of Smash - April 4, 2011

    […] right into our first workout.  It was a very intense cardio, core and legs workout and after my 10 mile training run the night before, I was […]

Leave a Reply

