Three Thing Thursday

31 Mar

Workout: Today was one of the longest days of my life workout wise, we did 4 different workouts throughout the course of the day. I am planning a big detailed post about it for this weekend so stay tuned. I will say we probably did at least 300 pushups and 300 squats..can you say sore?!

I am currently sitting at a bar by my house with Sean, my roomate Erin and our friend Tom but I didn’t want to miss my 3 Thing Thursday post so I will make it short and sweet.

3 Random Facts I Learned Today:

  1. It takes 21 glasses of water to rehydrate yourself completely from the amount of dehydration from one Coke.
  2. The average amount of time an American spends standing in one day is 41 minutes.
  3. The three most important things to cut out when trying to jump start weight loss (according to the instructor..not my belief!!) is white bread, sugar and dairy.

Interesting right? Hopefully I get to bed soon..big concert tomorrow night!

Did you know the above facts?

How do you feel about cutting out dairy?

5 Responses to “Three Thing Thursday”

  1. katshealthcorner March 31, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    I don’t eat dairy because the lactose bothers my stomach; I’ve heard so many different things about dairy (negative and positive ones), so it is a little confusing. Why is your instructor against dairy?

  2. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 1, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    Hmm, interesting. I’m not sure I quite believe the first one, honestly, but I guess it doesn’t matter much to me since I don’t drink soda. I used to be a vegan (for a year), so I can cut out dairy, but it tastes so good!

  3. This Italian Family April 1, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    1. Oh my gracious that’s awful. I knew it dehydrated you because when I worked at a summer camp the kids were only allowed to have soda once a day and had to get water or juice (you know, flavored sugar water, haha) the rest of the time because of the the 100+ temps.

    2. That just makes me sad. 😦 And people wonder why obesity is so prevalent in this country. When jobs require sitting at a desk 40 hours a week and the social norm is the spend your evenings in front of the TV… well yeah, I guess I can see how that happens.

    3. Sure, if you plan to never go back to eating those foods again. In general the problem with cutting out any food from your diet is that once it is reintroduced, whatever benefit you got from cutting it out, is now gone. So yes, cutting out stuff like that will help you lose weight, it’s just not necessarily maintainable for most people. However, portion control is a huge problem in the States (and in my household – it’s something we struggle with finding a balance for). Oh! And all of us could use less refined sugar in our diets – ick!

    Apparently my tummy doesn’t like dairy (which I just recently discovered this winter) so at home I don’t eat/drink dairy. I use soy or almond substitutes and I’m fine. When I go out and want to eat something with dairy, I won’t deny myself so I take a Lactaid and that helps. Hopefully not TMI? Haha!

  4. movesnmunchies April 1, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    WOWW seriously those facts are shocking!! i dont eat dairty since im vegan so no worries with that one!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Boot Camp Instructor Training « A Spoonful of Smash - April 4, 2011

    […] our lunch break we jumped into a great nutrition discussion and learned these cool facts .  We also learned more about publicizing our boot camps, how to run a boot camp buisness, and even […]

Leave a Reply

