1st Cubs Game of the Season

3 Apr

As I mentioned earlier I had a pretty busy weekend!

On Saturday we took advantage of a you swoop Sean bought a month ago and went to our first Cub’s rooftop game.  If you’ve never been to a roof top game this is basically how they work: You buy a ticket that’s typically a bit more expensive then a regular ticket to the game (except our’s were only $70 for this one) and then you get access to one of the many rooftop apartments that overlook Wrigley Field.  You can see the field perfectly and you can sit in what are basically mini stands on top of an apartment building.

So why is this better than attending the actual game? You get free food and drink the whole time! Each rooftop is a little different but they all have some sort of food menu and then serve beer, wine, and soda.  We were at a rooftop yesterday that was sponsored by Goose Island so the food and drinks were delicious.

The rooftops typically have a few different levels with at least one being an inside area so if it is freezing like it was yesterday you can go sit inside and have a drink, eat some food, and watch the game on TV.  It is really a cool experience, we went to the Dave Matthews concert this summer at a rooftop and it was really fun.  I don’t know that I ever want to experience a Cub’s game any other way.

I love Wrigley Field, reminds me of summer.


I also love all the street vendors. I didn’t get a picture of it but there was one shirt in Cubby blue that just said #Winning and I wanted it so bad!

We enjoyed a few of these, I really enjoyed the baseball names they gave them, like the Skybox White and the Cubbie Blue.  The menu included: Pulled Pork, Cheddar Burgers, Veggie Burgers, Bratwurst, Hot Dog, Grilled Cheese Panini, Turkey Reuben Panini, Italian Beef Sandwich and then sides of: pasta salad, fruit, potato salad.  They also had a taco bar, chili, pretzel bites and fresh cookies.

The view from our seats, not bad at all for not actually being in the stadium

It was so windy!

Sean and I were joined by his two sisters, Lauren and Erin, and mine and Erin’s roommate Elizabeth.

Cubs Win!

These guys were great. The bucket boy street performers are a staple at Wrigley Field but this group had a little boy playing with them who was so cute! He actually played too and would do tricks with his drum sticks and kept getting so mad when people gave him money.

And then we ended our afternoon at Sluggers Piano Bar!

It was quite the fun weekend! Today I am just relaxing and going to go run errands in a little bit. Love grocery shopping and Target shopping on a Sunday.

Have you ever been to a Cubs game?

Do other baseball stadiums do rooftop games? Or is this just unique to Wrigley?

5 Responses to “1st Cubs Game of the Season”

  1. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 3, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    The last Cubs game I went to was probably 7 or 8 years ago. But I’ve been to a few Sox games (my fiance’s a fan, and I go for the food).

    The rooftop game sounds amazing! If I were to go to another game, I’d definitely want to do that! To bad the game wasn’t today with the amazing weather we’ve got!

  2. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 3, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    I know nothing about baseball (I’ve been to maybe 3 minor league games and one St. Louis Cardinals game), so I was totally amazed by the rooftop game! I’ll have to check out the Cubs if I ever make it to Chicago (that is the right city, right?).

  3. katshealthcorner April 3, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    You like to have fun girl! 😀

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 4, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Yours was sponsored by Goose Island? That’s awesome… the one I went to last year was so much fun! Waiting for Groupon to put out some rooftop tix for May/June.

    I played the drums with some of those guys after my first cubs game a couple years back(they’ll let you do it if your friends tip them enough- lol).

  5. This Italian Family April 6, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    YAY Cubbies!! I have been to a Cubs game and then won when I was there! Fun stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

