Boot Camp Instructor Training

4 Apr

If you are a regular reader of A Spoonful of Smash you know that last Thursday I attended a Boot Camp Instructor training class.  I am lucky that my company sent me to it as part of a prize for doing well with programs at work.  I was really excited for this training as it would allow me to broaden my horizons as a personal trainer and give me another certification.

I was a little worried though..because this was the instructor..

Thankfully Sgt. Ken turned out to be a really nice guy, not nearly as scary as his picture seems! The day started off bright and early at 7:30 am.  We quickly discussed what we would be doing for the day and then jumped right into our first workout.  It was a very intense cardio, core and legs workout and after my 10 mile training run the night before, I was dying!

Luckily after the first workout we got a bit of break as we learned more about conducting our own boot camp programs, how to program, and how to motivate.  We did 2 more workouts in the morning, one focused on partner exercises and one focused on upper body using just bands and body weight.  Let me tell you resistance bands can be HARD.  I could barely do a lot of the upper body exercises.

After our lunch break we jumped into a great nutrition discussion and learned these cool facts .  We also learned more about publicizing our boot camps, how to run a boot camp buisness, and even how to host workout retreats!

Overall Sgt. Ken was great.  I have never been to an instructor certification training before but the amount of information he gave us was insane.  I basically have the blueprint of how to run a very successful boot camp business on my own as well as a word by word script of what to say and do to act like a real army Sgt. during a boot camp class, complete with cadences and shouts!

If you are a fitness instructor and ever get a chance to get this certification I would highly recommend it.  I will let you all know when I start my own Boot Camp programs! Oh and get ready to be sore, I was more sore then I think I have ever been all day on Friday.  We probably did at least 300 push ups and 300 squats throughout the course of the day.. OUCH.

Have you ever taken a boot camp class? How was your instructor?

5 Responses to “Boot Camp Instructor Training”

  1. Shannon Heisler April 4, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Sounds like great experience Ashley! Good for you. Boot camp classes are really fun. Looking forward to reading how you incorporate this new training into your work.

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 4, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Never taken a Boot Camp course, but it sounds right up my alley! I love having my butt kicked! 300 pushups and squats? That’s crazy talk, but totally hard core!

  3. Sarah Stevens April 4, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Woah, Sgt. Ken looks like he could eat me for breakfast! I’ve never done a boot camp, but I’m curious. Too bad you live in a different city!

  4. movesnmunchies April 5, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    this looks AWESOME!!!!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 11 Recap « A Spoonful of Smash - April 26, 2011

    […] is what I ran last month.  I assumed the last month of training would be the biggest but between boot camp, a really sore 12 miler, and now a small injury I will probably end up around 80 miles this […]

Leave a Reply

