Burgers & Speed

5 Apr

If you are a new reader from Facebook due to my boot camp training post, Welcome! I hope you stick around 🙂

Workout: I am really trying to stick to my schedule exactly this week.  So yesterday was an easy 5 done on the treadmill, 45:10.  And then today was the time to find some SPEED!

On the schedule was 10 x 400s.  I remember when 6 x400s was hard, I guess all this endurance training has paid off because I did all 10 of them and got faster throughout.  I started with a 1/2 mile warm up (I had just done some easy jogging with my client so I was a little warmed up already) and then the 400’s began.  Times broke down too:

  • 1:55, 1:55, 1:46, 1:44, 1:46, 1:44, 1:43, 1:41, 1:41, 1:40

The goal for this workout was to keep the 400’s between 1:45-2:00 so I’d say, SUCCESS! I did a .25 mi jog in between the first four, then walked .1-.15 after the last 6.  I ended with a 1.25 mile cool down for total mileage of 5.85 miles.

Now not to say that workout was easy by any means.  It wasn’t, it HURT.  But I knew I had to do 10, I was perfectly capable of doing all 10.  So I pushed through and did them all, and felt great about it afterwards.

So after my hard but satisfying speed work I came home and refueled with a glass of milk and a scoop of protein powder.  This is the protein powder I am currently using..

I really like that it is not an excessive amount of calories or protein.  Paired with a glass of milk I am still getting 14-17 grams of protein for about 140 calories.  I am not sold on the taste, after Lent is over I will be trying the chocolate. I also made a delicious cheese and chicken quesadilla with a side of refried beans for din din, mmm love refried beans.

And now onto Black Bean Burgers! I have been meaning to try these for a while but I never found the perfect recipe.  So on Sunday night I just decided to make my own.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • drizzle of olive oil (I didn’t measure but probably 1 Tbsp)
  • 1 TSP Cumin
  • 1 TSP Laurys Seasoning Salt
  • 1 TSP Garlic Powder
  • 1 TSP Chili Powder

And that’s it! It was so easy. I mashed up the black beans then added the bread crumbs and seasonings.  Formed them into 5 patties and cooked them for about 5 minutes on my grill pan.

I topped them with some cheddar cheese and served on toasted bread.  I have to think these are better health wise then regular burgers and my boyfriend even approved of them!

And of course I served them on my new cute plates from Target.  More random knick knacks? Why not!

What was your Tuesday workout? If you are a runner do you ever do speed work?

-Love the sense of accomplishment, hate doing it!

Do you like refried beans? Or black bean burgers?

Apparently I love all beans these days!

What is your favorite protein powder?

9 Responses to “Burgers & Speed”

  1. katshealthcorner April 5, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Awe! Your knick knacks are SO cute!! 😀

    Beans are my favorite no matter what! 😀

  2. Faith April 5, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    I love Tera’s Whey for protein powder. I havent tried anything that I like anywhere near as much!

  3. megan @ the oatmeal diaries April 6, 2011 at 4:41 am #

    I usually like Designer Whey but recently I tried pea protein and LOVE it! And my workout for the day is going to be zumba 🙂

  4. Lettuce Choose Healthy April 6, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    awesome work out! .. I havent really tried many protein powders.. I have tried amazing grass.. THe chocolate one is good in smoothies .. but its so expensive !

  5. movesnmunchies April 6, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    i love BB burgers!!! oh and your quesadilla!… my workout was jillians metbolism DVD- woo!

  6. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 6, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    I’m always a little afraid to drink protein powder because of that study showing they are contaminated with heavy metals. I’m also not allowed to use soy, that limits my options to whey.

    Way to go on your 400’s! Sounds like you really put some good effort in!

  7. This Italian Family April 6, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    Oooh so much cheesy goodness in this post! I definitely love refried beans. I know a lot of people don’t, but they are just so yum! I also enjoy a good black bean burger. 🙂

  8. Page April 6, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    I swear, I can’t get out of Target without buying at least one unnecessary item. Cuteness!

  9. Jen Correa April 7, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    I LOVE black bean burgers!!! But I’m so not a chef, so I usually enjoy the Morningstar ones. I put them right on the broiler and then put them on a light multi-grain english muffin with some cheese (had it with goat cheese this week) and lots of veggies 🙂

Leave a Reply

