Workout Wednesday

6 Apr

I am going to try a new thing with this little bloggie and start Workout Wednesday’s!

Every Wednesday I will share a workout that I have created for any one to try out.  Hopefully I will get some pictures and videos up soon of common moves I will use.

So this weeks workout is as follows:

Warm up: 10 min walk/jog (Jog if your comfortable, walk if your not, or anywhere in between).

Then start your first circuit:

  • 15 squats and then hold down in your squat position for 15 seconds.
  • Next 15 lunges on your left leg, then hold your lunge for 15 seconds, and repeat on your right leg.
  • 15 pushups (either on toes or knees) then hold your pushup position half way down for 15 seconds
  • Using a resistance band do 15 bicep curls then hold your curl halfway up, 15 seconds.
  • Repeat circuit 2 x

Then run/jog/walk for 5 minutes and start your 2nd circuit:

  • 15 Tricep dips on a bench, stair, whatever you can find
  • 15 single leg step ups on that same bench/stair: Repeat on opposite leg
  • 15 Jumping Jacks
  • Repeat circuit 2x

Finish up with 10 min run/jog/walk

This is a really easy workout to do outside.  If you are bored of doing your strength training inside switch it up and try this out! Let me know if you do!

Have you ever done strength training outside?

What kind of workouts would you like to see in the future?

6 Responses to “Workout Wednesday”

  1. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 7, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Once my knee heals, I really need to start strength training regularly. I love that this workout requires very little equipment because then I can do it at home. Thanks!

  2. mealsformiles April 7, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    Oh, I’ve never even thought to do strength training outside! This looks like a good workout. For some reason, circuit training kind of scares me – maybe I picture Jillian Michaels yelling at me or something 🙂

  3. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 7, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    What a cool idea! Love gettin’ moves from a trainer!! Are you charging for this? 😉

    I’d love to see at least one Wednesday where you post an extremely challenging (in your standards) strength/cardio circuit. I love anything that will make me literally collapse at the end, if not before…

  4. katshealthcorner April 7, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    I love this!!! What a great workout! Once my heal heals (I slipped and fell while I was running the other day and scraped up my knee REALLY badly), I’ll be sure to try this. 🙂 Hopefully it will be next week. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Long Run and 3 Thing Thursday « A Spoonful of Smash - April 7, 2011

    […] you for everyone who gave my Workout Wednesday suggestions, I will try to do them in the coming […]

  2. Technology Fail « A Spoonful of Smash - April 12, 2011

    […] Stay tuned for the second installment of Workout Wednesday tomorrow! […]

Leave a Reply

