Peanut Butter Yum Yum

7 Apr

On Monday and Wednesday night’s I don’t get home from work until 7:45 pm.  And I try to get to bed by 9:30 due to my 5:10 am wake up call the next day..so why in the world did I bake on both Monday AND Wednesday night this week?!!

All I have to say is that I just keep finding great recipes that I simply must try..and these last two have been filled with peanut butter..YUM!

Recipe 1: Homemade Granola Bars

I have always been intrigued by homemade granola bars so I spent some time researching a bunch of different recipes and then combined them to form my own.

Ingredients:

  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1.5 cups of oats (I used old fashioned)
  • 1/4 cup of raisins
  • 1/4 cup of craisins
  • 1/2 cup butterscoth chips
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 2 TBSP Chia Seeds
  • 2 TSP cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla

I basically combined all the dry ingredients on top of the mashed banana then added the peanut butter and syrup to bind everything together.  I then spread the mixture on top of a piece of wax paper and put in the fridge overnight

The next morning I portioned into 12 squares, wrapped individually in plastic wrap, and placed in my freezer so I can just grab it and go!

Overall I really like these.  I figured out they are about ~200 calories per bar (based on the ingredients I used) and they are SO filling, especially compared to most granola bars I’ve had.  They are almost too sweet, if anyone has a recommendation what to replace the syrup with that might not be quite so sweet I would love suggestions!

And then Wednesday night I came across this recipe on Tina’s blog and knew I had to make them for dessert.   I am trying ANYTHING these days to keep my Lenten resolution of no chocolate..it’s not easy!

Flourless Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1.25 cups of oats (I used old fashioned)
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1/4 cup of peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp of butter

You just mix together, put on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes.  These were quite yummy but don’t be fooled, the recipe says they make 1 dozen.  Which is true, if you are in to nugget cookies.  They are the tiniest little cookies in the world! No way could anyone just have one.

What are your favorite non-chocolate recipes?

-I need new ideas!

6 Responses to “Peanut Butter Yum Yum”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 7, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    I find the amount of cookies I yield after baking is always considerably less. Sure, some of this may be due to eating cookie dough, but come on! I have no idea how people are satisfied after eating one cookie the size of a quarter…

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 7, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    I also want to try making my own granola bars! I spend way too much money on them as it is, buying 5 boxes at a time!

  3. Mom April 7, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Mrs. Fields Cinnomon Sugar Cookies don’t have chocolate neiter do Snickerdoodles. Of course, they dont’ have any nutrition in them either but they do fit the YUMMY profile. Let me know if you need the recipes for them.

    Can’t wait to try your granola bars. Glen McClain makes his own Cliff Bars and brings them to practice occassionally to share. They are also quite good and very healthy!
    Mom :))

  4. movesnmunchies April 7, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    YUM!! i make bars similar to these for my mom and her friends when they run!!!

  5. katshealthcorner April 7, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    My favorite Non Chocolate Recipes are My Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies and My Pumpkin Cranberry Nutty Cookies. 😀

  6. This Italian Family April 9, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Looks yummy! And just think… Easter is almost here! Hooray for having chocolate back in your life soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

