Lead Legs

10 Apr

It’s official..only 3 weeks til the big race! Congratulations to Clare who finished her first marathon today!

After my successful 12 mile run on Thursday I failed at being a good runner for the rest of the week.  I took Friday off instead of doing cross training because my legs were killing me.  My right quad was so so sore and I have no idea why.  Luckily it felt much better on Saturday, when I planned on running a tempo 5 miles.  Instead of running 5 I went shopping all day, took a 2 1/2 hour nap and woke up at 8 pm..oops?

After taking 2 unplanned rest days I had to run today.  Plus my sister called me and told me all about her amazing 12 mile run and her time kicked mines trash.  I went on an easy 3 mile walk with Sean this morning because its 80 degrees in Chicago today! And then after sitting outside for a few hours I set off on a run.  I wasn’t sure how far I would go, goal was 4-5.  It. was. miserable!

I don’t know if it was the heat (82 degrees) the fact that it was 2 in the afternoon, or just that my legs hadn’t done any exercise since Thursday but everything hurt.  I ended up doing 4 miles in a little over 37 minutes which isn’t bad but it was very painful.

So what lesson should I learn from this?: DO YOUR RECOVERY RUN SMASH!

I have on my schedule to do an easy recovery run after all my long runs, and I have yet to do one.  Maybe if I actually sucked it up and just did them my legs wouldn’t feel like lead 3 days later.  My week ended up like this:

  • Sunday: 5.5 mile walk with my Roomates
  • Monday: 5 miles easy
  • Tuesday: 10 x 400’s, 5.85 miles total
  • Wednesday: Off
  • Thursday: 12 miles
  • Friday: Off
  • Saturday: Off

So in total 22.85 miles, not bad for 3 days of running.  Plan for this week is:

  • Sunday: 4 miles..check
  • Monday: 45-60 min elliptical/weights
  • Tuesday: 5 mile tempo
  • Wednesday: Cross Train
  • Thursday: 4 miles Easy
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: CARA 10 mile race

So please help keep me accountable this week blog friends 🙂 I am not really going to “race” the CARA 10 miler I just want to use it as a good pacing long run, goal to start around 8:30’s as much as possible.

Sorry if you are not into running, don’t worry when I can load pictures I have lots of good eats from this weekend and all my new clothes I bought while shopping Saturday to share!

How was your weekend so far?

If you are a runner do you typically do recovery runs after long runs?

4 Responses to “Lead Legs”

  1. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 10, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    I went out running today at 3, and I feel your pain! It was pretty intense. I brought my hand-held water bottle, only to find I didn’t wash it out well enough and it had suds from extra dish soap! So no water, which was excruciating!

    I don’t normally run after big runs, but I did run 3 miles today after my 14-miler yesterday, so I guess that’s a recovery run, but my legs are definitely hurting, too!

    Now I’m just waiting for the storms to blow in!

  2. cbrady3 April 10, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out Ash! You’ll kill your race too!

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 11, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    Ugh, no recovery run for me today. My hip is jacked. I hate recovery runs because I’m always so sore, but they are definitely necessary.

  4. Emily @ eat.drink.run. April 12, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I don’t usually do recovery runs…depending on how long the long run is and how I’m feeling the next day, I’ll either take a total rest day or I bike (I really like biking bc it works the same muscles as running without the impact) – then the next day I’ll go back to running, but an easy run (no speed work or tempos right after long runs).

Leave a Reply

