Technology Fail

12 Apr

First of all thank you SO much for all the kind comments on my last blog 🙂 It was probably my most personal one to date so it was awesome to read all of your kind words.  Speaking of which..I got these beautiful flowers delivered to me at work on Monday.

I love them! I got tulips for our one year anniversary as well.. I guess it is kind of our thing now!

Workouts: I have been sticking to the plan.. Monday I did 30 minutes (3 miles) on the elliptical and some upper body weights.  Today I was supposed to do 5 miles with 3 of them at a good tempo pace (8:15-8:30 was the goal).

So I set off on my run and my Garmin starts beeping at me “low battery.” Okay no big deal it should last at least 45 minutes.  I look down at my watch after what is probably 5 minutes and it is DEAD.  Boo technology fail!

Now normally I wouldn’t care that much, I’ve run without a Garmin most of my life but today I actually really needed it! I did not have a pre-mapped route so I had no idea any distance markers and I really wanted to run my middle three miles at a good time, but I had no way of knowing what that was.  I decided to just guesstimate what time I thought I started running and then run for 45 minutes so that would be at least 5 miles.  About halfway through I realized I could use the map my run app on my phone (which I used to use all the time before I got my Garmin) so I timed two of the tempo miles using that.  That was 16:50 so 8:25 pace, not bad not bad.  Overall I am guessing I did about 5 miles in a little under 45 minutes.

Lesson of the day? Make sure your Garmin is charged if you plan on relying on it for a run!

Do you use a Garmin?

If not how do you typically map your time and distance?

Stay tuned for the second installment of Workout Wednesday tomorrow!

3 Responses to “Technology Fail”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 12, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Nice speed, girl!

    Now that my half is over, I’m definitely ready to focus on getting faster again (vs endurance running) and running shorter races. I really miss it! :p

    And since you asked, I’ve got a few races that I’m looking at, but am only signed up for one- the Run for the Zoo 10k!

  2. Jena April 13, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    I rely very heavily on my Garmin. I ran with out it the week before my half (because I wanted to have relaxing runs and not worry about speed) and it drove me crazy to not have my garmin. I hated it.. I have done a 10miler w/o my garmin and i used the run keeper app on the iPhone.- that was the worst 10 miles of my life, that app was horrible. During the week I run in the same place every day so I know almost exactly where the mile markers are (if i’m forced to run w/o my garmy).

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 13, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    I love tulips!

    I do use a Garmin and before that I had a Polar with a GPS attachment. I’m an uber-dork, so I love looking through all the stats on Garmin Connect.

    I’m excited for Workout Wednesday. I need a new workout! I promise to rest my butt, though. You are totally right about needing to rest.

Leave a Reply

