Three Thing Thursday

14 Apr

Workout: Today is only 4 easy miles, gotta get ready for my big race on Saturday! The weather keeps changing for it, first it was 44, then 39, now 52.  The only thing that doesn’t see to change is the fact that it is supposed to be raining, or snowing, or something wet.  I really hope it waits until after 9:30 am to do that.

For this weeks edition of 3 thing Thursday I bring you: 3 Things I’ve learned from blogging!

(Probably only you readers with blogs will find this interesting so if you don’t blog and still read (Hi Mom!) then I’m sorry).

  1. Bloggers love overnight oats. Every where I read people are making overnight oats, overnight oats in a jar, oatmeal cookies that sound just like overnight oats.  I just can’t get behind this phenomenon.  If you don’t know what overnight oats are it is basically mixing some type of non instant oatmeal with milk and yogurt and other toppings and letting it sit overnight. I love oatmeal don’t get me wrong but I like my oatmeal HOT! The whole overnight in the fridge and its cold thing is just not for me.  I tried it, twice.  I refuse to try again.
  2. I find great joy in bloggers that make fun of other bloggers.  Is that mean? Obviously the best is angryrunner. Yes sometimes I take pictures of myself before I run too but she is just so funny about things that if you think about it are quite strange that most of these healthy living blogs do.
  3. I have no desire to ever become a vegetarian or vegan.  A ton of the blogs I read the authors are all about the no meat thing.  Which is great for them, no way would I ever do it.  I see what they eat and make all the time and just think, wow that looks like a LOT of work.  I love my easy chicken dishes and I will never give up pulled pork.  You haven’t convinced me yet blog world!

And that is all folks! I am going to happy hour after work today (which for us is 3 pm) and it is much needed.  Busy Busy Week!

What have you learned from the blogging world?

13 Responses to “Three Thing Thursday”

  1. Mom April 14, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Good Morning my blogging daughter. Thanks for the shout out but I do also blog just not quite as regularly as you do 🙂 I think I might have to try the oatmeal thing at least once, and never say Never! It could happen down the road as you become more and more in love with veggies! For me, I could never give up a delicious steak and lobster dinner. Have a good day and the temp for your race will be perfect. You don’t want it to be hot 🙂

  2. Jena April 14, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Ew, I’m with you on the over night oats. They are so gross. Maybe I didn’t do it right; cold & mushy just doesn’t do it for me. I love my oatmeal hot w/ some bananas & blueberries and non photograged.

    I’ve also learned that I’m getting really, really, really tired of seeing what everyone eats, ever day of their life. I mean really? How many times are you going to take a picture of that bagel w/ peanut butter & bananas on it? AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!! Or the crazy concotion of a salad. My google reader has a gajillion un-read blogs bc I can’t bring myself to look at 12,000,000 pictures of food. Most of the time the posts are mainly food pictures and a little bit of content. blargh. (I’m sure people are sick of seeing random pictures of me too..We all have our things).

  3. katshealthcorner April 14, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    I have had overnight oats maybe once or twice, but I think I prefer the whole make them in the morning thing. 🙂 Much more convenient for me. 🙂

    With blogging, I love all of the relationships I have with my readers! 😀

  4. movesnmunchies April 14, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    ahahahh love your 3 things! ive learned that you can put spinach in smoothies.. that almond butter exists and that chia seeds rock!

  5. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 14, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Ha! I love your 3 things! I tried overnight oats once, and it wasn’t successful. I’m thinking of trying 1 more time and zapping it in the microwave the next morning. We’ll see how that goes…

    I’ve learned that blogging gives me a whole new sense of purpose and dedication in life, and that its crazy time-consuming, which is something I’m working on!

  6. mealsformiles April 14, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    heh, i’ve learned to like overnight oats, actually! I would have had no idea what they were without the blogging world! I also learned about dark chocolate dreams peanut butter, which I now can’t live without 🙂

  7. Danielle April 14, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    I have learned that I eat like a slob. I read all of these posts about eating salads and super healthy foods all while I’m craving McDonalds. UGH. But, that’s why I run…so I can eat what I want without carrying an extra 250 around with me.

  8. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 14, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Eww, overnight oats squwick me out. They’re just so slimy and mooshy.

    I have learned a ton about the size of rare fruits from reading blogs written by pregnant women. I’ve also learned any name can be spelled ridiculously.

  9. ShannonH April 15, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Nothing sounds right about those overnight oats. But I’m not eating any sorts of grains so there’s that!

    My all-time favorite blog is ginandtacos.com. It’s perfectly irrelevant and thought provoking.

    I like The Plus Runner from Chicago as well. She makes me laugh and has given me some good tips on workout wear. That is rapidly becoming too big these days.

    And you. I love Smash! Have a great run this weekend! Miss you!

  10. ShannonH April 15, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    irreverent! Should have said irreverent! LOL.

  11. Jos April 16, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    I agree that a lot of bloggers I’ve encountered are either vegans or vegetarians. And I do learn some “exotic” products that totally unknown to me prior blogging (nutritional yeast, coconut flakes, almond butter for example) Love your 3 things btw! 🙂

  12. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 16, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I love AR! I think one of the most important things about blogging is that you can’t take yourself too seriously… she and Marie (Cheaper Than Therapy) point out the obvious. And it’s just awesome.

    And overnight oats are gross. I like them hot and I don’t like yogurt all up in my oatmeal… sick. However, I am one of the millions who puts peanut butter on everything. But I’ll totally admit to and make fun of myself for it. Because I learned it from jumping on the bandwagon…

  13. loftyappetite April 18, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    What I love most about blogging is learning about new things and being inspired by others living all over the world! I just discovered overnight oats recently and I like them both cold or reheated in the microwave. When heated they’re just like regular oatmeal. I have never heard of angry runner, but I will definitely have to check it out! and I def feel at times like I’m the only non-vegetarian non-vegan blogger out there and feeling bad about it! I love my meat and sugary sweets have their place too!

Leave a Reply

