Week 10 Recap

17 Apr

Oh hello blog world..sorry for my little hiatus! I am loving the comments from my last post and the fact that not everyone loves overnight oats.  I agree with Amy, I just can’t get behind having yogurt “all up in my oatmeal” either.

I have had quite the busy weekend but I will save that for another post later today.  I just wanted to share a recap of my 10th week of 1/2 marathon training, only 2 to go! If you are a regular reader you will know that I was signed up to do the CARA 10 miler on Saturday morning as my long run for the week.  After freaking out about the weather report for it all week I finally decided on Friday I was not going to run in it.  Call me a baby but I could not force myself to go run in the pouring rain at 8 am on a Saturday morning “for fun.” So weekly workouts ended up like this:

  • Sunday: 4 miles easy
  • Monday: 30 min elliptical and upper body weights
  • Tuesday: 5 mile “tempo” -no clue what how fast due to a dead garmin
  • Wednesday: Off
  • Thursday: 4 miles easy
  • Friday: 8 miles on the treadmill: 1:11: 35
  • Saturday: Off
Total: 21 miles
So once again I did not follow my training schedule exactly.  Oops.. I am beginning to think I might never but oh well as long as I can get through those 13.1 miles in two weeks I will be a happy girl. At least my 8 mile time has improved since the first time I ran 8 on the ‘mill.
The plan for this week is as follows.  I am going home for Easter on Thursday so who knows how much I will be able to stick to it.
  • Monday: 5 miles and strength
  • Tuesday: 10 x 400’s
  • Wednesday: Cross Train
  • Thursday: 35 min tempo
  • Friday: Cross Train
  • Saturday: 6-7 miles
Hopefully shouldn’t be too hard to follow.  And then it will be officially taper time. Race is Saturday April 30th!
I’ll be back later to share all my adventures from the weekend, it was quite fun.
Have you ever dropped out of a race before due to the weather? 
4 Responses to “Week 10 Recap”

  1. katshealthcorner April 17, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Great Mileage girl! 🙂 No, I’ve never dropped out of a race due to the weather. 🙂

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 17, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I contemplated signing up for that race, but looked at the weather forecast and decided against it! I ended up in the gym running 13 miles instead.

    Which half-marathon are you running?

    • Ashley April 17, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

      I am doing the Champaign 1/2 marathon.. Its at U of I on the 30th!

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 18, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    This is going to sound crazy, but I kind of like running in the rain sometimes. As long as it isn’t too cold it’s like being a little kid again. At least until your feet blister on the bottom from being too wet.

Leave a Reply

