Grumpy Pants

19 Apr

You know how some days you are just GRUMPY! Today was one of those days for me.  I slept awful, I had cramps all day, I got rained on twice, I missed my train for the 2nd day in a row and I was super busy at work.  All of that = GRUMPY SMASH.

This is the grumpiest I’ve ever been..college graduation.  So hungover. Awful.

Besides eating a whole pack of peeps the only thing salvaging my mood today is my workouts.  Yesterday I ran an easy 5 on the treadmill while watching more episodes of Greek.  I am on season 2 and loving it still! Then today I was supposed to do 10 x 400’s but decided to do 5 x 800’s instead.  Pretty much the same right?

I started with a mile warm up, then did the 5 x 800’s at 7.5-7.6. (7:53-8:00 min mile pace) with a .2 mile walk/jog in between.  The 800’s were not bad at all, not sure if it because for me the pace wasn’t too terribly fast, or maybe I really have just built up some serious endurance.  I am hoping its the second one.  Total mileage with the cool down was 5 miles. Only 2 more running workouts this week! I really do enjoy running and following  training plan but sometimes it seems so daunting at the beginning of the week.  I am always glad when I have a few of the workouts completed.

Now time to try and de-grumpify myself.  I am thinking lots of tv (biggest loser is on tonight), reading blogs, and in early bedtime are all in my future.  Only two days until I go home for Easter, I can’t wait!

What is your go to cure for a bad mood? 

8 Responses to “Grumpy Pants”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 19, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Ugh… my college graduation took FOREVER. People started leaving in the middle of it because they had dinner reservations to get to (the college had estimated it would take about an hour and a half less time than it actually did).

    I loved Greek. Then it conflicted with another show I watch, and I sort of stopped watching. I need to Netflix it…

  2. Danielle April 19, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    My cure is some yummy Tex-Mex and trashy reality TV. : )

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 19, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    I didn’t even go to the main ceremony for college graduation because it was so bloody long. No regrets.

    I feel you on the grumpiness. Hope your week gets better and trashy tv cures what ails you! I loved Greek and watched all the way though the series finale. It has some ups and downs, but you’ll still care about the characters by the end.

  4. Britt April 19, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    I just stumbled onto your website and I see that you are from Chicago and training for the Illinois Half Marathon. Best of luck! I’ve ran that twice, and it is a really beautiful course.

  5. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 19, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    I watched Biggest Loser tonight, too! And I had a huge Greek marathon compliments of Netflix and worked through the entire last 2 seasons in just over a week – it was intense! But I love that show, too!

    For me, a cup of tea always makes me feel better.

  6. jeri April 20, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    it was a full moon on Monday. we can blame your grumpies on its lingering affect. Kyle was crazy crabby last night, and I was super short fused. Bad full moon!

  7. Rach @ This Italian Family April 21, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Aww I hope the grumpiness has passed by now!

    And girl, I love Greek! I was so sad when it ended. 😦

  8. Emily @ eat.drink.run. April 22, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    College graduation was definitely one of my grumpiest days. Combine being horribly hungover and in a gross sweaty gym and I was a mess.

    Peeps are an awesome cure for grumpiness! And also Biggest Loser haha…its so bad but I love to eat junk food while watching that show. Jillian would kick my ass.

Leave a Reply

