Workout Wednesday

20 Apr

For this week’s edition of Workout Wednesday I bring to you a cardio and strength mixed circuit.  The goal is to do one strength exercise followed by one cardio exercise.  This is a great workout for someone who is preparing to do any sort of obstacle race, mud run, that sort of thing.  By combining strength exercises with your cardio you will burn a ton of calories and get a great total body workout.

  • 10 minute cardio warm up (running, walking, elliptical)
  • 15 bicep curls (standing on 1 leg for balance) followed by 50 Jumping Jacks
  • 15 pushups followed by 15 burpees
  • 20 weighted squats (hold dumbells) followed by 20 squat jumps
  •  20 Kettlebell swings  (can also be done with a dumbell or weight plate) followed by 20 step ups on a high bench or step
  • 1 min plank hold on your elbows followed by 20 plank jacks 
  • Do the circuit 3x then end with 5-10 min cardio cool down and stretching
I guarentee you will work up quite a sweat with this workout! Thank you youtube for the videos, hopefully I will be able to make my own soon!
What is your Wednesday Workout?
7 Responses to “Workout Wednesday”

  1. Jena April 20, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    I’m loving this post! I always want to do work outs at home (besides running on the treadmill) and I really never have a clue what to do or where to start.

    I totally love that you added youtube videos for the more complicated exercises, thanks for that!!

    I think I might give this circuit a try tonight. Those burpees might kill me. 😦

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 20, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Aahhhh, burpees! Those kick my butt. I once did a bunch of these combined with other moves and I could hardly walk the next day. It was sweet! Thanks for the workout!

  3. movesnmunchies April 20, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    oo this looks great!! i def cnt get bored with this one!! i did a good schweaty interval run!

  4. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 20, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    I can honestly say that I have never heard of a plank jack before, but it sounds scary. I guess that means I should go try it now!

  5. katshealthcorner April 20, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Today I did some INTERVALS!!! 😀 I’m loving them! 😀

  6. Kimberley April 22, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    Loved your guest post, im excited too read your blog 🙂

  7. megan @ the oatmeal diaries April 22, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Ooh I love using kettlebells!
    Great post on Clare’s blog btw! 🙂

Leave a Reply

