Houston We have a Problem

23 Apr

An IT band problem that is.  People I am freaking out.  There is one week until race day, the race I have been training for the past 12 weeks and then some for.  If I end up getting hurt this week..the LAST week..I will be a very angry girl.

Yesterday my sister and I set out to do our last long run, an easy 7 miler.  We were all smiles at the beginning.

We started out pretty fast, which was my goal.  If we were only doing 7 miles I wanted it to be a fast 7 miles.  Maybe mistake number 1? Around mile 2 I started feeling a tightness in my right leg at my hip/IT band area.  I stopped and briefly stretched it out but then kept on going.  Mistake number 2 is that I should have stopped and spent a significant amount of time stretching but I did not.  It continued to hurt for the rest of the run so I called it quits at mile 5.  I immediately iced the whole upper half of my leg and stretched.

It’s not so much that it hurts it just feels really tight.  I am hoping it is just a fluke from sitting in the car all day yesterday or something but it still hasn’t felt 100% all night.  I suppose we will see what tomorrow brings.

Anyone knows that the best cure for a terrible run is to go hang out with the cutest little girls in the world. My sister and I picked up our cousins and took them shopping..they had more fun with our iphones.

This one’s going to be a heart breaker.

Today we are having a bridal shower for my cousin and then a huge night before Easter party.

What are your Easter plans?

Ever had any IT band problems?

Please give me any advice!! I have a foam roller just no access to it this weekend.

8 Responses to “Houston We have a Problem”

  1. Danielle April 23, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    I haven’t had IT band problems, but I hope yours is better soon! Those girls are precious!!!!

  2. katshealthcorner April 23, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    YAY for spending time with your sister!!! 😀

    This Easter, I’m going to spend time with my family. 🙂

  3. Kimberley April 23, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    haha they are too cute!

    I hope it is nothing serious and you are in tip top shape soon 🙂

    I am going to brunch tomorrow with family—buffet style, how exciting 🙂

  4. Jena April 23, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    I definitely have IT band issues. If it were me, I’d take this week off and do some light cross training. All of your training is done; taking this week off won’t hurt your endurance but running may aggravate your IT band more. You can use a rolling pin on your IT band if u really want to roll. Stretch,ice & rest.

    Good luck!! Remember, all your training is done. Don’t freak out yet.

  5. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 23, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    That sucks! I had an IT band injury in college when I ran 11 miles after a 4 week break from running. It took me out for 2 months! I really hope you’re just experiencing tightness/soreness. I had to go to physical therapy where they gave me a ton of IT band stretches and used a sonogram machine on the area with this warm jelly stuff – it was supposed to loosen the muscle. I’d google some stretches and just stretch like crazy, and definitely do not run if you feel any discomfort. I learned the hard way with that one. I hope it all works out okay – keep us updated!

  6. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 23, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Like I mentioned on Twitter, I get acupuncture with electric stim on my IT band. It’s made a huge difference for me, but you know I love acupuncture and use it for all my injuries. My only other idea would be KT Tape and a foam roller.

  7. mealsformiles April 24, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Oh no, I hope your IT band is ok! I’ve had many problems with my ITBs, and find foam rolling and stretching work best. There’s usually a tight, painful spot somewhere along the band that I foam roll the crap out of and it gets better after a few days – week or two, depending. Ice too, of course. If it doesn’t feel better after another couple days, I also recommend going to PT. Good luck – hope it feels better soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 11 Recap « A Spoonful of Smash - April 26, 2011

    […] the last month of training would be the biggest but between boot camp, a really sore 12 miler, and now a small injury I will probably end up around 80 miles this […]

Leave a Reply

