Easter Weekend

25 Apr

Welcome back to reality! I had an amazing 3 day weekend celebrating Easter with my family but now it is back to the daily grind.  Good thing I have my big race to look forward to on Saturday! Thank you to everyone who gave me great IT band advice..I am taking one more non-running day today and will test it out tomorrow.

In order to truly understand the crazyness that is smash-family holidays you must realize that I come from a VERY big family and we are all close.  We had a bridal shower and party on Saturday night which my mom counted over 80 people between the two, and Sunday there was probably at least 60 people at my Grandmas.  For the most part we are all related! I am the 3rd oldest of 29 grandchildren so it is a lot of fun.

We started Saturday off with a bridal shower for my cousin Molly.  She is the first cousin to get married so it is pretty exciting.

The beautiful bride to be

The shower was held at my house so my sisters and I did a lot to help my mom get ready and prepare.

My mom and I

My sisters and I

We had a TON of food, two different kinds of pasta salads, fruit and veggie trays, and of course cake!

It was all delicious and a really fun shower.  I can’t wait for the wedding! Saturday night we had a huge party for family and a few friends and then Sunday we got up, went to the longest mass ever, and went to my Grandmas for the day.

The massive spread of food at my Grandmas

Overall I’d say it was a very successful Easter.  I was sad to leave my family but I will be going home for my race next weekend so I will see them in less than a week!

How was your Easter Weekend? 

Do you have a big family? 

10 Responses to “Easter Weekend”

  1. Jena April 25, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    I thought I had a big family, but not compared to yours 😉 I have quite a few cousins on my Dad’s side of the family, but we don’t really get together for holiday’s anymore. 😦

    My Mom’s side of the family is smaller, and that is who I spent Easter with. It was a good time! It’s a long drive so that stinks, but it was still nice to spend time w/ the Fam.

  2. Ashley April 25, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Great pictuters Ashley but where is the one with the mass of people in grandma’s kitchen? You can’t really experience the enormity of this family until you see them wall to wall ;o)

  3. Mom April 25, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    oh hey sorry about that, that post was from your mom looks like while you were home you logged on to my computer and stayed logged in HMMMMM’

  4. the dawn April 25, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    what a perfect way to celebrate easter! and man, that food looks amazing! my family is super small…and spread out over the country. in fact for my wedding (in my home town) my husband had more family there than i did. only 8 people where in my “whole family” photo. sad, i know…

  5. ShannonH April 25, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Haha “mom”. Way to make Smash look like she’s talking to herself. 😉

    Looks like another wonderful weekend with a wonderful family!!! Love you all!

  6. Kimberley April 25, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    AHH, all the food looks ahmazing! Plenty of fruits and vegetables, I would have been in heavan! Also, the flowers are gorg!

    I have a really small family! My dad and mom are both only children!

  7. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 25, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    How cool! I love big family celebrations. We also have a big family, too, and nothing’s better than getting everyone together. With Easter and a bridal shower, sounds like you had a great weekend! I love you picture with the blue flowers – they’re sooo pretty!

  8. katshealthcorner April 25, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    How exciting!! 😀 Congrats to your cousin! 😀

  9. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 26, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    My mom’s side of the family is massive. I think we’re closing in on 70 (she has 12 brothers and sisters). Needless to say, holiday time spent on that side of the family is usually limited to 2 hours- it’s exhausting.

    My dad’s side of the fam is much smaller. And is sort of a nice sigh of relief…

  10. Rach @ This Italian Family April 26, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    WOW! What a huge family! But so very cool, too! 🙂 I grew up with 4 other siblings and if you count all my siblings’ siblings (ah, divorce) then there’s 10 of us kids in all. With 6 parents. Our family tree looks pretty weird. 😉 Aanyway, the 4 siblings I grew up with are the ones I know the best so when I talk about my family I’m usually referring to them. 🙂 And now they’re all grown up and having babies of their own so our nuclear family is growing at quite the rapid pace. And it’s funny too ’cause all my other aunts and uncles only had 2 kids per family. Ah, oh well, I love my fam and wouldn’t trade ’em. 🙂

    But still, even as big as we are – definitely no 29 cousins! That’s so cool. I love that your family is big and gets along! My family is bigger than most and we get together for all the big stuff too. Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

