Does Candy=Carbs?

26 Apr

That is the question of the day my friends, does candy = carbs? If you say yes I you will immediately become my bestie 🙂

Thanks to Carrie, Danielle, and Kimberley for sending me good wishes for my test run today.. It went AWESOME! I did 4 miles in a little over 34 minutes which is WAY faster then I planned on.  I think either A. my garmin messed up or B. I was too busy focusing on how IT band felt the whole time to realize I was going too fast.  Either way I am a happy camper because I didn’t have any pain what so ever.  I came home and ice my shins and IT band, can’t be too cautious.  I have been foam rolling a few times a day as well so I plan on keeping that up.

My dad called me tonight to tell me about all the carbs my sister and him were having in preparation of the race.  I ate a salad for dinner (which I never do!) so I am thinking I should have some carbs.  Easter candy = carbs right? Because I have A LOT!

Mmm jelly beans and chocolate 

Goals for the rest of the week: Eat well balanced meals, drink LOTS of water, and get at least 8 hours of sleep. I am off to cheer on my Chi-town teams, GO BULLS and GO BLACKHAWKS!

What advice would you give someone about to run their first half marathon?

What do you think I should do running wise this week? 

I have been told an easy 3-4 tomorrow then 1-2 Friday with strides.  Lots of different opinions though

7 Responses to “Does Candy=Carbs?”

  1. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 26, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    I say carb load with all that Easter candy! 😉

    I would agree that you should do some slower run a few more times this week and then rest up. Don’t want to max out on speed before the big race!

    Which half are you running again?

  2. Danielle April 26, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I think my only advice would be to pace your self and enjoy it. For me, my first half was the one I wasn’t concerned about my pace or anything like that. I was running for me, against me.
    Candy=whatever you want it to be. DUH.

  3. katshealthcorner April 26, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Well, candy is full of sugar, and sugar is a form of carbohydrate, so yes. I would say candy = carbs. 😉

  4. movesnmunchies April 27, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    YAY ON YOUR RUN! that time is FAB!… yes candy for sure = carbs! agree with Kat!

  5. Kimberley April 27, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    Great JOB on your run!

    And Candy totally equals carbs! go for it giiirl!

  6. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 27, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    Sugar is one of the most basic forms of carbohydrate! Good luck with your half! I don’t have any advice since my first half isn’t for another week and a half.

  7. Anna April 28, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    hey ash!! so i know you run this Saturday…. just thought i’d comment on your pre-race running question…

    I run the half a lot and I usually either do 2-3 on friday OR NONE AT ALL and either REST or cross train (the elliptical). I had PR last year and I didn’t do anythign the Friday before. I did about 4-5 that Thursday before.
    But I think it all depends on the runner and what you are used to! I figured that it won’t hurt to do 1-2 on Friday, but if you are at all tired or sore, it’s not worth it and I would just walk, bike or stretch.

    ALso, I always liked peanut butter on toast with sliced bananas and honey for my pre-race snack 🙂 or oatmeal

    good luck!!

    ALSO – YES CANDY does equal carbs!! haha I am all about eating tons of candy 🙂 I mean, doesn’t the sugar give you that spurt of energy?! haha… well at least you can indulge after the race!
    .

Leave a Reply

