Surviving Lent

27 Apr

If you have been reading A Spoonful of Smash for the past few months you will remember I gave up chocolate and buying coffee for lent.  I was inspired by Julie’s post so I thought I would reflect on how that went for me.

1. Chocolate: This was by far the hardest of the two.  Before lent I was eating A LOT of chocolate, at least for me.  My roomates like to keep a candy jar stocked full of reeses in our kitchen so my candy intake has grown exponentially since living in this apartment.  Its awesome, but bad for my chocolate addiction.  It was really hard to give up chocolate simply because I always wanted something sweet at the end of the night and had nothing to eat.  I ended up making cookies to help fill the void.   I was curious to see if giving up chocolate would have any affect on my weight, nope still exactly the same! And since I am pretty content with my current weight I guess this just means I can add the chocolate back in with no worries! And trust me it is back in full force..

2. Buying Coffee: I didn’t give up drinking coffee completely because I don’t even drink it every day.  I just wanted to stop spending all my hard earned cash at Starbucks and Argo Tea.  This ended up working out pretty well because I just started making myself iced coffee drinks every night.  I think I ended up drinking more coffee during lent because I got really good at making it, now I think the coffee I make is better then the ones I buy! My coffee recipe = 1 cup coffee, 1 cup milk, 1-2 tbsp caramel machiatto creamer.  So it’s really more like a cold latte but I think its delicious.  I did cheat on this a few times and had people (aka boyfriend) buy me coffee and I bought 2 tea drinks.  Overall not that hard to give up and I am going to try and keep making my own drinks instead of wasting money at coffee shops.

My first purchased drink post lent

How did your Lenten resolutions go?

Random question: Does my subscribe button work? 

-I don’t know if my RSS subscribe button works or not and I can’t seem to figure it out.  If you are good at blogging stuff or have been able to subscribe to my blog this way please let me know!

5 Responses to “Surviving Lent”

  1. Kimberley April 27, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Oooh girl, you gave up to huge things for lent!

    On monday, I decided to give up coffee because I felt addicted to it… but I just decided today that I am not going to give up completely and that I will have one if I am out somewhere but I just dont want to make it become a regular occurence!

  2. katshealthcorner April 27, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    YAY for CHOCOLATE!! 😀 I don’t think I could give it up for as long as your did! 🙂

  3. Rach @ This Italian Family April 27, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    You go, girl! Way to stick to your Lent plans!

  4. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 27, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Your subscribe button takes me to the feed page, which is pretty normal.

    I failed at Lent oh so very hard. My mouth resembles a sewer and I couldn’t manage to clean it up. At least I went to the dentist so it is literally clean even if I couldn’t make it figuratively clean?

  5. ShannonH April 28, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    I gave up alcohol for Lent. There were only a few moments where it was hard. The rest of the time I was glad to be able to bounce out of bed in the a.m. for my workouts, etc. I find alcohol helps me make bad choices DURING the drinking and the next day. Easier for me to stay on plan when it’s out of the picture.

    All that said – I had a yummy bloody mary with my Easter brunch. 😉

    Good luck this weekend Ash!

Leave a Reply

