Workout Wednesday

27 Apr

Sticking with the theme of the rest of this week today’s Workout Wednesday post is focusing on leg strength for runners.

Doing leg exercises as a runner can sometimes be a tricky concept because you don’t want to make your legs too sore for your running workouts but it is very important to do strength training exercises for your lower half to avoid injuries.  Some of my favorite’s are:

I would recommend doing at least five of these exercises 2-3 sets of 12-15 reps.  Add weight when you feel necessary.  Doing single leg exercises helps to build up the hip stabilizer muscles which are key for runners.
I think the best days to do leg work are either the days before a rest day or the day before an easy run.  Easy runs will help loosen up your sore legs so it is okay to strength train before that.  The only days I would NOT recommend doing leg strength exercises is the day of, or before a long run and the day of a hard speed workout.
If you run what are your favorite leg exercises and how do you fit them into your schedule? 
4 Responses to “Workout Wednesday”

  1. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 27, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    Thanks! I’ve been trying to do just that! I have hip flexor issues with anything over 18 miles, and I think some strengthening should help, I hope!

  2. Jena April 27, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Thanks for these exercises! Since i’m out w/ an IT band problem, i’ve been trying to work on my leg strength and my hip strength.

  3. katshealthcorner April 27, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    I love these workout wednesdays!!! You have to keep them up! 😀

  4. Erin @ untilyoutri April 27, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    It’s so true that it’s hard as a runner to fit in leg strength exercises. Training for a triathlon right now, I’ve had a REALLY hard time making myself fit in strength training, both because of time (it’s even harder with THREE sports to get in) and worrying about soreness. I need to be better!

    When I do get my strength training in, I love a lot of the ones you listed…single leg squats/deadlifts, calf raises, jumping squats…but I HATE jumping lunges (I still do them, but they kick my butt:).

Leave a Reply

