Three Thing Thursday

28 Apr

2 Days 2 Days 2 Days!!

Just in case you somehow missed it only TWO DAYS until I run my first half marathon! The plan is to drive to Springfield tomorrow night after work then Saturday morning we are waking up bright and early and driving to Champaign for the big race.  My lovely roomie was able to pick up our race packets so we don’t have to worry about that but sadly I won’t get to check out the expo.

I have to make this post quick, lots of packing and playlist making left to do! Today’s Three Thing Thursday is about 3 things I am concerned about..with regards to the race of course.

  1. The Weather. I actually am not too concerned about this because weather.com is telling me that its supposed to be 51-57 from the hours of 7-9am with only a 10% chance of rain.  This sounds great but it also says WIND starting at 9 am.  I went to school in Champaign for 4 years, I know about the wind..and it can be bad.  But then again I have been training in the “windy” city so hopefully it won’t be too bad.
  2. What to Wear: My sister bought us new running shorts but I am scared to wear them because you are never supposed to do anything new on race day.  I plan on buying some body glide to prevent any issues that may come with wearing new shorts.
  3. The Drive: I am not worried about getting up early because I woke up at 5 today and I will wake up at 5 tomorrow for work so waking up at 5 on Saturday will feel routine.  I AM worried about trying to hydrate and being in the car for an hour and a half.  I am also worried about how stiff my legs are going to get on the 2.5 hour drive back to Chicago after the race.
Now that I reread those I guess none of those concerns are really too terrible.  I think its going to be a great day!
What would you wear for a race that will be 51 degrees at the start? 
10 Responses to “Three Thing Thursday”

  1. Sarah S @RunningOnWords April 28, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    I’m sure everything will go swimmingly! Good luck!

  2. Kimberley April 28, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Girl– you are going to do great! Im excited to hear all about it! Try not to worry too much 🙂

  3. jeri April 28, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I’d wear shorts and a tank for sure. Good luck! Can’t wait to hear all about it!! 😀

  4. megpinkgiggles April 28, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Good luck! I’m doing my first half marathon in september. Can’t wait to read how yours goes 🙂

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 28, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    No worries about missing the expo- they usually sort of suck anyway…

    I heard somewhere you should always dress like it’s 10-15 degrees warmer than it actually is. It’s worked out pretty well for me so far. 🙂

  6. Jena April 28, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    I would wear capris and a short sleeve shirt. I’ve read you should dress for 20 degrees warmer…but if it’s windy that kind of eliminates that theory (that’s why I went w/ capris). I think you would be warm in long sleeves.

    Good Luck!!

  7. movesnmunchies April 29, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    AHH so exciting! I would wear shorts and a tshirt! ur gona get warm soon from runnning!

  8. Kelly April 29, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    you’ll be totally fine – how exciting that race day is so close! I’d wear shorts and either short sleeves or a sleeveless top with glove if it’s cold at the start. You got it girl – can’t wait to hear how the race goes!

  9. the dawn April 29, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    51, you could probably do a tank and shorts. it was in the 40’s for my marathon, and i was immediately too hot in my arm warmers. wear a jacket that you can leave in the car or hand off to a friend right before the start and you should be fine.

    GOOD LUCK!!!!

  10. katshealthcorner April 29, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    I would wear something comfortable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

