Meatloaf Cupcakes and Questions

3 May

As I mentioned earlier I am still taking some time off from exercising so I had a TON of free time when I got off work at 3 pm today.  I decided to make some serious comfort food, turkey meatloaf and mashed potatoes! After a quick trip to the grocery store I was ready to bake.  Sadly I discovered I do not have a loaf pan so instead I remembered Monica’s idea about meatloaf cupcakes and decided to make my own version.

Smash’s Turkey Meatloaf Cupcakes

  • 1 lb lean ground turkey
  • 4 oz tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 1 egg
  • A few squirts of ketchup
  • Sprinkle of Salt and Pepper
  • 1 tsp of Worcester Sauce
I mixed it all together with my hands (because that’s what your supposed to do with meat loaf right?) and separated it into 4 cupcake tins cooked at 350 for 45 minutes.  Right before it got done I made up some instant mashed potatoes and corn to have with. The most filling and delicious dinner ever!
On another note do you have any questions for me about training for your first half? I would love to do a Q and A post about my experience or just any questions for me in general!
7 Responses to “Meatloaf Cupcakes and Questions”

  1. becky May 3, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Those are the cutest meatloaves ever!

  2. katshealthcorner May 3, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    I’d love to know what your “perfect” breakfast would be. 🙂

  3. mealsformiles May 4, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    ah, those look so good! I haven’t had meatloaf in YEARS, but it’s definitely a major comfort food for me. Glad you’re taking some time off to recover!

  4. Jena May 4, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Meatloaf and mashed potatoes is my husbands favorite meal EVAH. I make something similar to the meatloaf cup cakes.. I make individual little loaves. I’ve never made it in a loaf pan.ever. I also don’t remember my mom ever making it in a loaf pan, she always made individual loaves for us.

  5. Mom May 4, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    mmmmmm’ looks yummy… I think I will make meatloaf for dinner cept I don’t like touching raw meat. I will have to get Abby to mix it all together. I do like the idea of making individual cupcake size ones though. That is a great idea. Did you use your jumpo muffin tin that I gave you for Christmas?
    mom

  6. Rach @ This Italian Family May 4, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Oooh looks yummy!

  7. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 4, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    There’s a place, or “bakery” in Chicago (or at least there was a couple years ago) that does meatloaf and mashed potato cupcakes as one of their entrees… everything looks like baked goods, but it’s really not.

    If I could only remember the name…

Leave a Reply

