Rest Week

8 May

First of all..Happy Mothers day to my beautiful Mommy!

And second CONGRATS to Allison who ran an amazing marathon this weekend!!

This past week has been the most low-key exercise week I’ve had since I started this blog..and somehow I have felt more tired than ever! I didn’t work out at all Sunday-Tuesday, Wednesday I did some light ellipticalling and weights, Thursday I did Jillian Michael’s Yoga Meltdown (actually was pretty challenging!) and Friday I did some more elliptical and weights.

My hip has not hurt all week but it still just feels tight on the one side, so I decided to get a massage.  It was my first time getting one EVER so I wasn’t sure what to expect but it actually was pretty great.  The girl who did it really focused on my hip/hamstring/glute area and pretty much told me that my right hip flexor and piriformis muscle are extremely tight.   She said both sides were tight but it was much worse on the right, where I have been having all the pain.  So that is good to know, it’s not an IT band issue but more a hip flexor/piriformis issue.  I am going to see a PT this coming weekend so hopefully she can help further the diagnosis and tell me what to do to fix it.  No running until then.

My weekend was pretty low key, I was home by 8:30 Friday night. Then I went computer shopping on Saturday (no purchases yet..but I am about 90% sold on getting a Mac book pro), and ended up staying in with Sean and watching 3 hours of 9-11 documentaries.  Scary stuff! Highlight of the evening was walking to my favorite ice cream place, it’s so delicious I promise to share pictures next time.  Oh and I plan on going there at least once a week since it is finally WARM here.

Today we rode our bikes to Sean’s family’s boat because it is back in the water.  We biked there and home and are guessing it was about 18 miles all together.  I am so exhausted from being out in the sun and wind all day and my face looks like a tomato.  His family has an awesome boat and I am sure I will be there all the time this summer so get used to hearing all about it.  But for now I will just leave you with some pictures we took from the boat..I love that it’s almost summer time in Chicago!

How was your weekend?

Do you enjoy hanging out on boats? 

5 Responses to “Rest Week”

  1. Allison @ Runs A Latte May 8, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Thanks for the mention, Ashely! You’re so sweet! 🙂

    Today was so beautiful – a bike ride sounds fantastic…well, except today, because of the searing pain in my knees 😉

    I can’t wait to spend more time in the sunshine and maybe go from pasty white to just plain white.

    Yay for summers at the boat! That will totally rock!

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 8, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    I know what you mean about being tired. I was out on Friday night, but there was no reason why I should have been as exhausted as I was… seriously- Saturday might as well have not existed!

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords May 9, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    Perfect timing on this post! I already tried the massage, but I am so sore still. I’m going to follow your recovery example and not exercise until at least Wednesday. I hope your PT appointment gives you some answers!

  4. mealsformiles May 9, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    I love boats and anything by the water – those pics are beautiful! I’m sure your PT will help you feel better – you’ll be back in no time 🙂

  5. lifeisbeachykeen May 9, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    I adore all things boats/water/beach/ocean. Sadly my Dad’s boat stays in dry-storage in Tampa, and the marina isn’t some place you’d really want to just hang out on the boat. I prefer to go out on the boat and see the sites or go fishing. (I’m hoping to go fishing when I get home from work today).

    Glad you don’t have an IT band issue. I go to PT tomorrow to find out what is up w/ my knee.

Leave a Reply

