Workout Wednesday

11 May

I promise next week I will try and have some of my own videos up! So until then I will keep this week’s Wednesday Workout pretty simple, we will call it 6 pack abs because it focuses on getting your core in shape!

6 pack abs: 

10 min cardio warm up

  • 15 burpees with pushups
  • 15 kettlebell swings
  • Hold a plank for one minute on forearms
  • 1 min mountain climbers
  • 1 min side shuffles
  • Hold side planks 1 minute each side (on forearms)
  • Sprints on treadmill or elliptical- go all out for 30s, rest for 15, repeat for 5 minutes
  • 25 crunches, 25 bicycle crunches, 25 reverse crunches
  • Repeat 2-3 times
The key to getting a rocking stomach is to build your core through strengthening exercises and to get rid of excess fat that is covering that 6 pack.  This workout will keep your heart rate up through the interval training and cardio exercises to burn a ton of fat and strengthen your abs at the same time.
What was your workout today?
9 Responses to “Workout Wednesday”

  1. Emily May 11, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    I did a plyometrics workout and some abs this morning, but I might add some of these moves in to my current routine! I’m still pretty novice, so I can’t wait for the videos!! Hope you have an awesome Wednesday!

    • Ashley May 11, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      I usually always include videos, sorry! hopefully you can figure them out if not let me know 🙂

  2. runtosmile May 11, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    So far I haven’t done my workout but thanks for inspiring me to add core back into my routine. I wish I knew what all of those things meant. Personally, I prefer running outdoors on the trails, but I know I need to keep up with strength training on some level, too. So thanks again!

  3. Jena May 11, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    Looks like a great workout, minus the treadmill work; I’m banned from running right now, so that won’t work for me; but I could do jumping jacks or something to keep my HR up. Right?

    I haven’t decided what I’m going to do tonight for my workout. I’m not a morning work-out person. I have PT tomorrow so I need to keep my leg stuff light. Maybe Bob Harper’s weight DVD.. I can’t think of what it’s called right now, but I don’t think it’s to heavy on the leg work.

    • Ashley May 11, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

      Yes for sure JJ would work! You could always do the elliptical or bike too for the cardio part. What is your PT for? I am going to see one this weekend about my hip..no running for me right now either!

      • Jena May 12, 2011 at 9:49 am #

        I don’t have gym access, so elipitcal/bike are out
        😦 I have TM at home, so if I was running I could do the tempo part on the TM.. I’m going to PT for my knee/hip. My knee has been hurting for about 1.5mth (right after my last half). I tried to rehab it myself by not running but it wasn’t working. The PT says I have a really weak right hip, so we will be working on that. (thanks for stopping by my blog!!)

  4. movesnmunchies May 11, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    dang!! i can tell this workout is KILLE!! cardio and abs blast!

  5. Kelly May 11, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    that looks like a great core workout. I usually do some crunches, pushups and planks after running but would like to mix it up a bit more!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three Thing Thursday « A Spoonful of Smash - May 12, 2011

    […] Ashley ← Workout Wednesday LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

