Spectating and PT

15 May

Wow what a weekend! I meant to blog on Friday and yesterday but I have been way too busy.  Friday night I drove home to Springfield, it took 4 hours when it should have taken 3. Chicago traffic you win.  I immediately went to get my hair highlighted by my favorite hair dresser and then watch my little sister run in her sectional track meet.

Shes pretty much a hurdle rock star.  Way better than I was when I ran track in high school.  Sadly it was pouring rain the whole time so my older sister and I spent much of our time huddled under an umbrella.

Such good supporters we are.  The track meet didn’t get over with until 11:30 at night! At which time I wanted to die since I hadn’t had anything but a power bar since my lunch at 11:30.  Luckily we went to the only bar in Springfield still serving food and had some pizza, pretzel bites and spinach artichoke dip..yumm.

Saturday morning I was up early to spectate my second running event of the weekend..The Fatass 5k! Its this awesome race in Springfield that serves corndogs, donuts, beer, ice cream and more throughout the course.  My sister and brother were running in it.  My sister was running for real, my brother and his friends (high school seniors who are all running superstars) were running while trying to eat as much food as possible.

My brother and his friends..running with half gallons of milk that they tried to finish before the end

They also put spots like a cow all over themselves and then wrote things like got milk on their backs

My sister and her friends

I had a great time spectating the race! There was not a ton of supporters because it was pouring down rain AGAIN so I was one of the only people cheering.  My sister ended up finishing around 25:30 and my brother finished around the 34’s after eating 3 corn dogs, 5 donuts, 4 things of fries and half a gallon of chocolate milk.  Oh high school boys.

I went to see my physical therapist yesterday too and she determined that I have a weak right glute and tight right hip flexor.  When I was running longer distances and my form started to break down because my right glute was weak it was causing all the little muscles in my right hip to overwork therefore causing the pain.  She gave me a few good stretches and strengthening exercises to do every day for at least the next two weeks.  I can also start running again, 1-2 miles every other day for the next week and then reevaluate after that.

Im off to go to a brunch for the wedding we went to last night..full recap of that to come!

Have you ever done a race that involved eating on the course?

I never have but this one looked fun!

Do you like spectating races?

-I love it! Track meets are really fun but wow those high school girls are speedy

5 Responses to “Spectating and PT”

  1. PoweredbyPeanutButter May 15, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I have never done a race where eating is involved, but I definitely would have thrown up if I had eaten anywhere near as much as your bro ha! I like spectating but I prefer to be out there running 🙂

  2. Danielle May 15, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I’m so impressed that your brother ate that much and still finished the race. Thats insane!!! Hope the PT helps!!!

  3. movesnmunchies May 15, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    OMG WHAT A RACE!! i could never do that!

  4. mealsformiles May 15, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    I’m not the biggest fan of spectating – I always want to be out there running! But sometimes it’s fun, like when I watched Boston this year. I would definitely vomit if I ate anything that wasn’t a gel during a race!

  5. Allison @ Runs A Latte May 15, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Ha! The Fat Ass 5k – that’s hilarious! I’ve never raced with real food being handed out. Sounds so fun, though!

Leave a Reply

