Birthday Treats and Running Plans

17 May

Thank you for all the happy birthday wishes yesterday! Turning 23 wasn’t the most exciting thing but I still had a really nice birthday.  I have decided that I will always take my birthday off work from now on, I was not feeling it yesterday.  I did continue to get treats today though so I think I will declare this whole week a celebration.

I got some pretty great gifts including a laptop case for my new computer (from my parents), a bike from my boyfriend (I bought him a matching one for his birthday because were nerdy awesome like that) and a dress and necklace from my boyfriend’s sisters!

Vera Bradley Lap Top Case

My awesome new bike (don’t mind my clothes drying)

Super cute dress and necklace from Forever 21

I also got some delicious treats from one of my clients (and 2 gift cards..she’s awesome), and my mom made my favorite dessert strawberry shortcake yummmm.

Crumbs cupcake and freshly baked chocolate chip cookie

Strawberry Shortcake deliciousness

In other actual workout news since I do like to attempt to make this a #fitblog, I ran yesterday! 2 whole miles.  It was the first time since the half marathon and my PT told me I was only allowed to do 1-2 miles every other day for the next 2 weeks. It went really well, no pain.  I am going to do all of my PT exercises religiously for the next two weeks and then hopefully increase my mileage from there.  My next half marathon training schedule is supposed to start next week!

Any advice on going from 2 weeks of very low mileage into half training? 

-I know the 10% rule but I am hoping I can increase from 8 miles a week up to 12-14 without any issues..good or bad idea?

What is your favorite birthday treat?

4 Responses to “Birthday Treats and Running Plans”

  1. Allison @ Runs A Latte May 17, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Yay – glad to hear you’re not in pain. You’re on your way to being fully recovered!

    I think since you’ve already been training, making the move from 8 to 12-14 shouldn’t be a problem as long as you stretch and ice when necessary. Of course, what do I know – I’ve never been one to follow the rules. But I seriously think you can do it.

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 17, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    I want that cupcake! Daaaang.

    Well… you know yourself better than anyone. You’ve had the ability recently to be able to run much more than what you are. But I wouldn’t go that much over adding 10% a week- it’s sooooo not worth it if you lose weeks to an injury down the road. Trust me- I still haven’t learned my lesson on that one. :p

  3. Kelly @foodiefresh May 17, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Everybody’s body is different and some people can increase more significantly without issues. My number one piece of advice is “Listen to your body”. If you increase too much and you feel really lethargic and weak, you’re doing too much. If you feel great, then you’re fine. Overall, I think we rely too much on regimented advice, specific numbers, and what worked for everyone else. I know when I listen to my body, I feel best. Just don’t ignore warning signs of burnout if they appear.

  4. Rach @ This Italian Family May 19, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Looks like you had a great birthday! Love your new laptop case and I hope you have tons of fun on your bike!

Leave a Reply

