Workout Wednesday

18 May

Welcome to another addition of Workout Wednesday! Have you checked out my page? I categorized all the workouts with a descriptive name so if you are looking for something in particular check it out.

Today’s Workout is called Total Cardio. With only being able to run limited distances right now I am having to utilize the other cardio machines in my gym to get in a full hour of cardio.  Here is an example of how you can do the same!

1st 20 minutes: Elliptical

  • Min: 1-4 Resistance 4
  • Min 4-6: Resistance 6
  • Min 6-8: Restistance 8
  • Min 8-10: Resistance 10
  • Min 10-12: Resistance 11
  • Min 12-14: Resistance 9
  • Min 14-16: Resistance 7
  • Min 16-18: Resistance 9
  • Min 18-20: Resistance 10
Your speed (if your elliptical says it) should be between 140-170 the whole time, faster if you can.  The higher the resistance the slower you can go but try and keep it above 140.
2nd 20 minutes: Treadmill
  • Min 1-5: Walk 4.0 Incline 6%
  • Min 5-8: Run 6.3
  • Min 8-10: Run 6.8
  • Min 10-13: Walk 4.0 Incline 8%
  • Min 13-15: Walk 4.0 Incline 6%
  • Min 15-18: Run 6.8
  • Min 18-20: Walk 4.0 Incline 6%
Last 20 minutes: Bike/Stair Stepper/Jump Rope/Burpees/Step ups
  • Find a resistance that is difficult but maintainable for you and alternate one minute hard/fast as you can, one minute easy keeping your resistance constant.  If you chose to Jump Rope or do Burpees do one minute on one minute off, or step ups vary your stepping speed every minute.
I guarentee if you follow this workout exactly you will be a hot sweaty mess by the end of it.  Always adjust your speeds/resistance/inclines to your fitness level and heart rate zones.
What is your Wednesday Workout?
-I’ve got 2 more miles with some incline walking and elliptical in my future today
2 Responses to “Workout Wednesday”

  1. Allison @ Runs A Latte May 18, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    I love mish-mash cardio workouts – always makes the time fly by!

    Right now, I’m doing absolutely nothing – still recovering from marathon craziness. I keep feeling like I should go to the gym, by my fiance said if I even thought about it today, he’d lock my workout clothes in storage.

  2. movesnmunchies May 18, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    oo ilove the ellliptical workout! i hardly ever use it becuz i knew know what to do !

Leave a Reply

