Taste of Chicago

27 Jun

I feel like all I did this weekend was eat and drink! Oh and run a 10k. 

The weekend started with a date night visit to “The Counter.” This build-your-own-burger place I first visited about a month ago with my aunt and sister. You get to pick if you want a ground beef burger/chicken/turkey burger/veggie burger and then pick all your toppings, sauces and what type of bun you want it on OR you can get it as a salad.

My first visit I wasn’t too impressed because I went the salad route, and I don’t really like salads. This time I went with the 1/3 lb burger and it was delicious.

A Cheddar burger with a side of BBQ sauce. Yum yum yum.

Sean had a burger with grilled onions, lettuce, feta, tomato and pickles.

After the race on Saturday, Sean and I rode our bike over to the Taste of Chicago.

The Taste is one of my favorite Chicago events. There are a ton of different vendors that sell a sample of their food. You purchase tickets and then use these at the different vendors. All the vendors have “taste portions” which are only 2-4 tickets so it’s really easy to sample a bunch of different food. Sean and I took fall advantage of the taste portions and got a bunch of fun food.

Smoked Chicken Sausage

Cheeeese Fries

Pot Stickers

Boneless Rib Sandwich

Cheese Bread

Eli's Cheesecake

1/2 a Cheeseburger

Frozen Chocolate Banana

I was trying so hard to capture all of our food on camera, but I got a little ambitious with the frozen banana hence the bite marks. I also forgot to take a picture of my rainbow cup ice cream. It was all so yummy and I am glad we went!

I am also glad we got to harass my friend Steven who was working at the Taste. HI STEVEN!

We ended the weekend with a bucket of beers (or two..) on Saturday night than brunch and some day drinking to celebrate the Pride parade on Sunday.

Bucket o' Beers

Brunch from Rockit

Gay Pride!

Mimosas

And if you are still looking at this super long post..thank you 🙂 I will quit attempting to be a food blogger now and go back to my normal posting.

What did you do this weekend?

Does your city have any special food events?

One Response to “Taste of Chicago”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 27, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Oh you canNOT go to The Counter and not get a burger! I love that place!

    I think there’s a Burgerfest happening in my area soon, speaking of burgers… lol

Leave a Reply

