Workout Wednesday

29 Jun

For this week’s Workout Wednesday I bring you variety: If you read my blog regularly you will know that my most common form of exercise these days is running. I haven’t always been so big on running though and for a few years in college I barely ever ran. So if you are looking to switch up your cardio workout routine why not try one of these ways to get your cardio in, especially now thats its summer!

Source

Rollerblading: I’ll admit until last night I haven’t gone rollerblading since I was a kid. Yesterday I decided to change that and set out on a 20 min stroll on my roommates new rollerblades. It was pretty difficult at first but once I got the hang of it I was having fun. Rollerblading gets your heart rate up and is an excellent quad and core workout. Read on about the other benefits of inline skating here.

Source

Biking: This summer I purchased an awesome new bike and have been using it a ton! Biking is a great form of cross training for running as well. I found that while it may take a little bit more effort to get my heart rate up on the bike, if I ride it for a little longer then while running my calorie burn is about the same. It also gives my always sore shins a nice break.

While rollerblading and biking are my two favorite forms of summer exercise besides running there are a lot more! You can always swim laps (in a pool or lake), play volleyball, kickball, softball or any other sport, or simply go on a long walk.

What is your workout this Wednesday?

Check out more Workout Wednesday ideas here! 

2 Responses to “Workout Wednesday”

  1. cbrady3 June 29, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    Hey Lady –
    Got your tweet. I’m kind of swamped right now with moving to Dallas so can’t do a Guest Post for a least a couple of weeks!

  2. katshealthcorner June 29, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Today I did my 30 Day Shred with Jillian and weights after that. 😀

Leave a Reply

