The Pacing Debate

12 Jul

Disclaimer: I know all running paces are individual and my slow may be your fast and someone else’s walking speed. Either way I know what my normal pace is, what my fast pace is, and what my slow pace is.

So far this summer my running pace has been s-l-o-w. I can’t figure it out. When I ran cross country back in high school we used to train at 8, 9, 10 am all the time. I never felt like my running pace was terrible in the summer compared to the spring or the fall. Maybe I was immune to the heat and humidity then, but I am NOT immune now.

So this is my debate: Do I just say “screw it” and run for my own fitness and health and not be concerned about my pace? Or do I make myself get up early because that might help (or it might not), and still attempt to do speed workout’s even though they are miserable and I’ve failed at pretty much every one for the past month.

I know I am not some super star runner and there are plenty of people who are WAY faster than me. I would have to work my ass off to win an age group award in a smaller race. I do, however, know that I am a pretty in shape person who is capable of running a better than average pace. I just can’t seem to get it together this summer.

I don’t hate running slow either. I actually really enjoy run/walking. I just know that I can do better than that and I like running races and attempting to be good at them.

I have already talked about running the Rock n Roll Half as a fun training run. I really don’t want to do this but I know I will be disappointed with my time if I try to do it as anything else.

Anyone know of a good fall half?

On another note..I found this picture of me finishing the Proud to Run 10k

At least I was able to run fast at the end of that race.

How do you deal with running in the summer? Does your pace suffer too?Β 

5 Responses to “The Pacing Debate”

  1. Jena July 12, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    My pace is slow(er) in the summer as well. Prior to be injured & summer, I ran a 23:37 5k, so I think that’s a decently quick(er) than average pace. Yesterday, I ran 3.1mi in 28 minutes.. It’s just hot, and I have no desire to try and kill myself. For me, in the summer, it’s just about maintaining fitness and being ready for the cooler months to come.

  2. Carrie July 12, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    I can totally relate to you…although you still seem fast to me! I ran 21-22 min 5ks in high school and now I average around 10min/miles. I just cannot push myself like the good ol’ days! I try to just run for fun and not be competitive because I don’t think I will ever run that fast again! I more or less do it for my mental sanity…and to make sure I can still fit my skinny jeans πŸ˜‰

  3. Mom July 12, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    First my darling blogger you need to know how to use the words then and than appropriately if you are going to be a blogger :)) Then, you can’t really compare yourself to your high school days because your workouts are much different now versus how they are now. You do not do the speed work on a track and you dont do hill work all of those make you faster…. Summer pace is always going to be tough because of the heat and less oxygen in the air. Definitely try and train during the coolest part of the day. And, get on the track for some intervals or on some hills for some repeats IF you want to run a faster pace. Finally, push through the mental barriers which are holding you back IF you want to run at a faster pace…

    xoxoxo
    mom

  4. Sarah S @RunningOnWords July 12, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    My friend The Running Jewess suggests that if the dewpoint is above 65 degrees F that you should not worry about pace. I like her advice and I think it works well. You could also do speed workouts on a treadmill at an incline.

  5. the dawn July 18, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    summers are torture. for sure. last summer, i was hoping to get a BQ at my fall race, but training in the heat did NOT help boost my confidence. i made it through. i did do some speed work, but it wasn’t very pretty. some days i had to wait until the sun went down (after 9pm) and it was still super hot and humid. but…when those fall temps rolled around i was amazed at how quickly my paces went down and i was running tons faster than i had been all summer. it was awesome.

    so, depending on your goals, you can do the speed work, or just keep running for fitness. whatever works for you.

Leave a Reply

