Workout Wednesday

20 Jul

Ever since getting a brand new bike in May I have been doing most my summer cross training via bike rides. I normally just go out and ride my bike for 45-60 minutes and call it a day.

I am not a pro on cycling by any means, but I have been doing a little reading up on different biking workouts so here is one for you to try!

Total Time: 60 min

  • Warm-up– Easy cycling 10 min
  • Intervals: Ride fast for 3 min (HR zones 80-85%) then recover for 2 min (HR zones 60-70%)
  • Do a total of 8 intervals
  • Cool-down: Ride easy for 10 minutes to let your HR return to normal
Try it out and let me know what you think! If you are looking for a strength workout make sure to check out all the past Workout Wednesday posts.
5 Responses to “Workout Wednesday”

  1. katshealthcorner July 20, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    Love it!

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 20, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    I am horrific on a bike! I tried going with my friend last year and was miserable. I like my feet better on the ground… πŸ™‚

  3. Samantha July 20, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    This is great–I just got a bike this weekend to prep for my upcoming triathlon. My plan calls for a 45 minute ride tomorrow, so I’ll have to try this.

    • Ashley July 20, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

      yes for sure try it! Let me know what you think!

  4. Casey July 20, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    I’m awful on a bike. πŸ™‚ I can’t go two feet without falling off!

Leave a Reply

