10 miles and Week 9

24 Jul

It has been a wonderfully relaxing weekend. I did a lot of “sleep, eat, nap, repeat” oh and ran 10 miles.

Saturday morning I was up bright and early to meet my friend Steven and his mom for our long run. We are all three doing the Rock n Roll half in just three short weeks (why so soon? ahhh) so we decided to run together.

It was already 80 degrees when we started running at 7:30 am and when we stopped for water the first time about two miles in I was already drenched with sweat. It was then that I realized this run might kind of suck.

We ended up stopping 4 times for water and I took half a GU at 5 miles but by about mile 8.5 I was so ready to be done. Luckily for me my running buddies encouraged me to push on and we finished out our 10 miles.

Overall one of the slowest long runs I’ve ever done but it was just so hot that I don’t even care. It was over 90 degrees when we finished. And I looked like I had stepped out of a pool I was so drenched in sweat.

The week ended up being pretty similar to last week except this week 3 out of my 4 runs were done on the treadmill.

  • Sunday: Rest
  • Monday: 5 miles (6 x800’s)
  • Tuesday: 10 mile bike ride
  • Wednesday: 5 miles
  • Thursday: 30 min weight videos
  • Friday: 3 miles
  • Saturday: 10 miles
Weekly Total: 23 miles
With only 3 weeks to go until the race I am hoping next week will be my highest mileage week yet! I want to get in a long run of 12 miles and a mid-week run of 6.
I hope it is not as hot on race day as it was yesterday. The race does start at 6:30 am though so that helps.
Any tips on how to deal with long runs in the heat?
One Response to “10 miles and Week 9”

  1. katshealthcorner July 24, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Make sure to drin lots of cold water beforehand! And wear lightweight clothing.

Leave a Reply

