Dedication

4 Aug

Dedication: Complete and wholehearted devotion 

That is the Whole English dictionary definition of dedication that I find most fitting when thinking about running and exercise.

Dedication

Over the past few days I have moved my entire life from one house to another, which has left my legs feeling more sore and heavy then after a hard race. So when I thought about the fact that I needed to go for a run yesterday it was really the last thing I wanted to do. Every muscle in my legs hurt and I could have fallen asleep standing up.

Dedication

But yet I made my self go running because I  have a half marathon coming up (10 days!!) and I’ve trained my butt off for it. There is no physical reason why I couldn’t go running. Sure I was sore, but I wasn’t going to hurt myself.

Dedication

To me going running yesterday just affirmed my belief that I really am dedicated to exercise. I set goals for myself and I want to do my best to achieve. It doesn’t matter that my run was slow and my legs felt like bricks the whole time, I still did it. And that my friends is what my definition of dedication is.

What are you dedicated too? 

5 Responses to “Dedication”

  1. gabriella @ embracement August 4, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    I’m definitely dedicated to exercise. I love setting goals for myself, the way I never regret it, and seeing the benefits. And I love that I can eat an extra spoonful of cookie dough if I so desire! I slack off sometimes, but I view exercise as my hobby that makes me happy.

  2. Jack Ralph August 4, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    You are awesome Ashley! I could not be more proud of your “dedicated” effort towards running. Why is it that so many athletes care more about their running as young adults than they did in HS? Great job on the move, great job on the training!

  3. katshealthcorner August 4, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    I am dedicated to health. I want do my absolutely best to take care of my body. I love how dedicated you are to running! 🙂 I know you will conquer that half marathon! 🙂

  4. Girl in the pink August 4, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    I’m dedicated to my health!

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness August 4, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    When I moved a couple of months ago, there were definitely days where my entire workout was just “moving”. (oh the stairs!!! uuuggggghhhhh)

    However, I got so antsy and impatient because all I really wanted to do was run or get SOME sort of cardio in. Turns out my muscles were craving it more than I initially realized…

Leave a Reply

