The Game Plan

12 Aug

As you might have picked up on in my last couple long run posts I have experimented with using the Run/Walk method for this half marathon.

I only really did it on three runs, a 10 miler, my 12 miler, and my last long run of 8 miles.

I got the idea from reading about the Jeff Galloway method. Unfortunately I don’t actually have his book or specific training plan. Sean and I figured out that if you run 4 minutes at a 8:15 pace and walk 1 minute at a 15 min pace you will end up with around 9 min miles.

My goal for the half marathon? 9 min miles

So this is the plan.

I think I will run the whole first mile because I am sure it will be super crowded and I will be excited and not want to walk. I do realize that the plan works by you taking the walk breaks early so your legs don’t get worn down so I will take my first walk break at 9 min and then every 4 minutes after that.

I might try to adjust them slightly based on where the water stops are but we’ll see come race day how that works out. I also might try to run the last 2-3 miles straight out if I am still feeling good and am around my time goals.

In reality I just want to finish the half under 2 hours, and if that doesn’t happen then just try to have fun. After my first half marathon I was injured, I felt like crap and I was really upset with my race.

We are looking for only happiness this Sunday folks, pure happiness πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “The Game Plan”

  1. gabriella @ embracement August 12, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Good luck you’ll do great! For my first half my goal was under 2 an I ended up running so much more than I usually do on training runs (huge fan of walk/run here!), but I think run/walk mentality is awesome, you can still kick ass even if you need a “working” break!

  2. katshealthcorner August 12, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Good luck on your 9 min miles! I know you can do it!

  3. jeri August 12, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Best of luck and kick some booty. Can’t wait to hear how it goes!! πŸ˜€

  4. Sarah S @RunningOnWords August 12, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Good luck tomorrow! You’ve got this!

  5. tricia August 13, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    good luck!

  6. Amy @ Second City Randomness August 14, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Can’t wait to hear how it went! The weather was at least cool and pleasant for ya!

Leave a Reply

