My Coffee Story

7 Sep

Growing up I always thought coffee was some gross drink my grandma drank. Neither one of my parents ever drank coffee so I was never around it.

Fast forward to Junior year of college and I got a job working at a coffee shop/restaurant/bar. Yes it really was all three of those things. I quickly learned how to become a barista, waitress and bartender. I still didn’t really like any of the coffee drinks that the other girls drank all the time and would stick to my chai tea lattes.

One day my manager had me try a new drink: a mocha, carmel and hazelnut latte (we called it a turtle mocha). I was shocked when I LOVED it. Though thinking about it now this drink was pure sugar so it was easy to hide the taste of the espresso.

Ever since then I have loved lattes. I never drink them every day and usually I only prefer the super sugary ones so I used to only drink 1-2 a week. I slowly made the switch to Sugar Free syrups so my calorie intake wasn’t as excessive.

These days I go through stages with coffee. I discovered I like Mcdonald’s sugar free vanilla iced coffee (medium, 1 cream) and this is the closest thing to actually coffee I’ve ever enjoyed. Some weeks I will get a coffee almost every day, some weeks I won’t have any. Either way my coffee habit has become a somewhat constant thing, and I am sick of spending money on it.

So I decided to purchase an espresso machine!

Now I can make my own drinks at home and save a ton of money. I still remember how to make the drinks from my barista days and I know where I can buy all the legit coffee syrups. There is no reason I can’t recreate the same drinks that I pay $5 for at Starbucks.

Let’s hope this purchase pays off. Anyone know where I can buy some pumpkin syrup?

Are you a coffee drinker? How did you start?

*Theres still a few more days to vote for me for Chicago’s MVBlogger. Just go here! It just takes one click!*

2 Responses to “My Coffee Story”

  1. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food September 7, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    I LOVE this! Coffee is such a wonderful wonderful addiction isn’t it! Coffee and I have had ups and downs but we are happily back together at the moment 😉

  2. Clare @ Fitting It All In September 7, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    I probably won’t help….I just like coffee black. The bitterness is so awesome! Anything sugary or milky makes me sick!

Leave a Reply

