Best Quinoa Recipe Ever

16 Sep

It is rare that I make real dinners. I typically stick with an omelette, some pasta, maybe some chicken if I am feeling really crazy. More often than I should I eat oatmeal or smoothies for dinner.

Not last night though. No last night I made was it quite possibly the best dinner recipe I have ever made.

When I saw Mama Pea’s recipe for Thai Fried Quinoa a few weeks ago I knew I had to make it. I got the ingredients this past Sunday but due to a gas outage wasn’t able to make it until last night.

It was definitely worth the wait.

Because I am super picky and don’t like a lot of things (i.e. veggies and spices) I made my own version of it.

My Thai Fried Quinoa– heavily inspired by Mama Pea

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup vegetable stock
  • 1 cup pineapple pieces
  • 3/4 cup frozen peas
  • 2 eggs
  • Dash of garlic powder
  • Dash of ground ginger
  • Fresh lime juice
  • Fresh Lemon Juice
  • 1 TSP Soy Sauce
  • Top with Peanuts and lemon/lime garnish
I started off by toasting the quinoa in a saucepan. I’ve never toasted quinoa before but for future reference I now know it takes about 10 minutes until the little seeds start popping.
Then I added 1 cup of veggie stock, brought it to a boil, covered and let simmer for 15 minutes.
While that was simmering I heated up olive oil in a skillet, added the pineapple, peas, garlic and ginger. Once the quinoa had been cooking for 15 minutes I added it into the pea and pineapple mixture, added two eggs and soy sauce. I cooked it in the skillet for another 5 minutes or so until the eggs were cooked. Topped it off with a generous squeeze from a lemon and lime plus honey roasted peanuts.
Best.Quinoa.Recipe.Ever.
I was seriously so impressed with how good this was. I ended up adding a little home-made peanut sauce to it but that was unnecessary, it was delicious on its own.
The only thing I’m disappointed about is that I only have one more serving. I see myself making a huge batch of this again this weekend to enjoy all next week.
All cooking must be supervised by a pup. Speaking of puppies, Charlie randomly decided he liked his crate today! That’s a first.
Have a great weekend everyone!
What is your favorite quinoa or thai inspired dish? 
3 Responses to “Best Quinoa Recipe Ever”

  1. Scott September 16, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Cute puppy.

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness September 17, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    I love thai food. And am a little mad I didn’t discover it until my last year of college. Have you ever tried woon sen? The noodles are AWESOME.

  3. KatsHealthCorner October 1, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    I am always in the need for quinoa recipes. 😀

Leave a Reply

