Biggest Loser: Episode 1

21 Sep

I have been a huge fan of The Biggest Loser forever. Maybe its the personal trainer in me but it is my favorite reality TV show by far. It’s also a great show to discuss as it usually has some drama with it. I decided to put Workout Wednesday’s on a hold for the next few week’s and have Biggest Loser Wednesdays instead!

So if you haven’t watched the show yet- don’t read this. And if you have, please chime in and tell me your opinions!

Episode 1:

Trainers: This season has two new trainers, Anna Kornikova and Dolvett Quince. And then of course my lovely friend Bob is back (he doesn’t really know we are friends). I was SO mad when I found out Anna was being a trainer, it’s clearly a publicity stunt. And it showed last night. Her team did exponentially worse than all of the other teams due to her lack of training knowledge and skills. Sure she’s certified but from what I’ve read she has very little experience other than being an athlete. Plus I just found her so annoying.

Contestants: They didn’t really give you a chance to get to know the contestants this time like in seasons past. I am sure we will hear all about their stories as the show goes on. I did feel sorry for the older lady Bonnie whose father died. The older team in general seems a little cranky- not sure they are going to over come the youngins especially with Anna as their trainer.

Game: So far it seems like they are splitting the contestants up by youngest, middle age and oldest. I think this will make for some very interesting competitions as they have never really done that before. My prediction is that the youngest team wins most of the challenges but the middle age team wins the weigh-ins because they have bob as their trainer.

Did you watch the first episode? What did you think?

Do you like the idea of doing a Biggest Loser discussion on Wednesdays? 

5 Responses to “Biggest Loser: Episode 1”

  1. Mom September 21, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    BL Obsessed as well. I think Anna is absolutely adorable but agree she sucks as a trainer clearly unknowledgable but then again that is what I hate about the general audience. Just because a human is an elite athlete does not mean they know anything about how to train another human.

    Bob’s group will kick but for sure and the young ones at least for now have a weak link with that big big big boy can’t remember his name.

    Love the coach on the older team and I a m so glad that what’s her name went home what a meanie!!! Although suprised they did not keep her for the drama ratings.

    Should be an interesting season. Maybe this will be the year I get up off the coach and actually workout during the show… nah probably not :o)

  2. jena September 21, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    I dislike both the new trainers, and I decided I’m not watching this season. Last season was the first time I’ve watched, and probably the last. I liked Jillian’s in-your-face attitude. Anna annoys me, and I didn’t pay much attention to the other guy.

    I also dislike how they have the teams split up.

    The whole thing was a gigantic fail, IMO.

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness September 21, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    I missed it last night. 😦 However, I’m not quite sure how much I’ll be tuning in… I really loved Jillian and Bob. And now that Jillian’s gone, I’m just sort of sad about it.

  4. runeatrepeat September 21, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    I love Bob. I think it’s kinda dramatic in general, so I take the whole show with a grain of salt. Did I mention, I love Bob?

  5. Linnea Wernette (@Lwernette) September 22, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    Yes, I love this idea! I miss Jillian but am excited for this season.

Leave a Reply

