Hydration Tips

20 Oct

My whole life I have been a big water drinker. We were never allowed to drink soda freely growing up and once I started running all my coaches made sure we knew soda was a big NO.

Ever since starting my real world job I keep a water bottle with my constantly and drink upwards of 64 oz each day. Water alone does get boring though so when Caitlin from Crystal Light contacted me about trying out their new “pure” brand I accepted right away!

I go through stages with Crystal Light packets- sometimes I buy them and use them all the time and then I will go a few months without them. I don’t like drinking my calories (I’d rather eat cookies!) so Crystal Light works well to liven up my water for close to no calories. I also drink a TON more water when it’s slightly flavored.

The people from Crystal Light sent me three flavors to try: strawberry-kiwi, grape and tropical blend. I LOVE the strawberry-kiwi and tropical blend kind. I am not a huge fan of anything grape flavored but I plan on letting my roommates try that kind. Crystal Light Pure line is naturally sweetened with truvia and sugar and has no artificial flavors or coloring. So from a health stand point that’s pretty great.

They also were nice enough to share some hydration tips from their RD Molly Kimball:

1.       Keep a Tally

We can’t actually tell how well we’re hydrated by how thirsty we feel. For many of us, by the time we start to feel thirsty, we’re already dehydrated, but just how much water is enough when it comes to staying hydrated? Keep a running tally of how much fluid you’re getting and aim for half of your body weight in ounces of fluid per day, plus an extra 16 ounces for every pound of sweat lost during exercise or work in the heat.

2.       Flavor Up to Drink Up

Want to drink water to stay hydrated, but hate the boring taste? Add the flavor you want and none of what you don’t by sipping on naturally sweetened Crystal Light Pure. It’s got no artificial sweeteners, flavors, or preservatives and is sweetened with sugar and Truvia, a natural sweetener derived from the stevia plant. It’ll give your water light, refreshing flavor with just 15 calories and 4 grams of sugar per serving. And the Grape and Strawberry Kiwi flavors have the added bonus of electrolytes!

3.       Don’t Forget about Food

Staying well-hydrated is essential for maintaining optimal energy levels, preventing muscle cramping and headaches, and more serious issues like heatstroke. But that doesn’t mean you have to force down gallons of water or bottles of sugary sports drinks. Any type of alcohol-free beverage can count toward your fluid intake – and even some foods! Some of the top electrolyte-rich, hydrating foods include all types of fresh fruit, soups like gazpacho and Greek yogurt.

4.       Watch the Caffeine

For years, the widely-held belief was that caffeinated beverages were dehydrating. An abundance of research has proven otherwise, however. The amount of caffeine typically found in standard servings of tea, coffee, and soft drinks appears to have no diuretic effect, meaning that these beverages don’t cause us to lose more fluid than they provide. But remember that you don’t want the majority of your fluids to come from caffeinated drinks since most health organizations recommend we limit our caffeine intake. Instead, try to vary what you’re drinking.

So if you are looking to liven up your water and drink more- I would suggest getting some of the Crystal Light pure packets!

*I received this sample product from Kraft Foods but the opinions are all my own*

Are you a Crystal Light Fan? 

4 Responses to “Hydration Tips”

  1. tequilacupcakes October 20, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    I am 🙂 I go through phases, and sometimes I don’t drink it for forever – but it makes the best low cal margarita… just add tequila!! 😉

  2. Amanda (@SemiHealthNut) October 24, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Hey love this! I actually think caffeine is a diuretic but it does make sense that they also provide some if not equal hydration compared to the diuretic effect…believe me…avid caffinator here! 😉

    I just wanted to let you know that I am loving your blog and I nominated you for a Liebster Blog Award! Check it out and spread the love–> http://semihealthnut.blogspot.com/2011/10/i-won-liebster-blog-award-winnings.html

    I also “liked” and commented on your FB page incase you check that more often!

    Have a great day!

  3. KatsHealthCorner October 25, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    I find that keeping my water bottle and refilling it is one of the best ways I keep my water intake in check.

  4. Robert Bowmer November 9, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Hey nice site. Have you ever tried coconut water? I’ve read that this is excellent for re-hydration. Find out more here http://uk.zico.com/. Cheers

Leave a Reply

