The Long Run That Wasn’t

18 Nov

Last night I was all prepared to do my long run this morning. I had my warm winter clothes set out and my garmin charged and ready. The plan was to run to work and since I work at 6 am that led to a veryy early wake up call.

And then I stepped outside. It was freezing and windy. Did I really want to run outside today? Nahhh

So no long run happened outside. I am hoping to get 6 treadmill miles in later and then do a short run outside tomorrow to bring the weekly total to 16.

It is becoming harder and harder to motivate myself to do longer runs outside because I am not currently training for anything. Does it really matter if I run a long run this week? Not at all.

However I did sign up for a 5k Turkey Trot on Thanskgiving morning. I don’t have any high expectations for it besides just have fun and try to enjoy racing again.

So what’s a girl to do when she fails at her workout? Naturally start Friday off with a billion calories of Dunkin Donuts.

I have been craving a pumpkin donut since September and never got one.. today was the day. And it was so worth it.

Happy Friday!

 

2 Responses to “The Long Run That Wasn’t”

  1. foodsweatandbeers November 18, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Loved that donutty goodness.

  2. pursuitofhealthfulness November 19, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    It’s definitely hard to get motivated for outdoor workouts in the cold… However, I’d rather run in the cold than the WIND! Treadmills are no fun, but they can be better than the alternative!

Leave a Reply

